Needleworkmonday | My Crochet Project: Moana Dress

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

image

I have been working on my daughter's halloween costume for almost three weeks now and I am super glad that finally, it is complete! I originally planned it to be a crochet top and tutu skirt type of costume but it's really difficult to chance that light brown hard tulle fabric in the market. So momma's got to improvise. And I'm glad I did! The end product was much better than what I had in mind.

image

On my previous post which I am shamelessly dropping here, I have just finished the top.

Then later that week, I headed for the fabric store to check if the hard tulle I needed has arrived. Only to be disappointed and be directed to another store which is miles away. If you live here in the Philippines, you can surely predict the unpredictability of the weather. It'll be sunny when you go out of the house, but then just as you are on your way to your destination, it will start pouring as if there's a storm. So I decided not to go to that other store. I just roamed around the mall, trying to figure out how I can make a skirt for my daughter's costume.

Then I went to the department store. I knew they have another fabric shop in there but it's just too pricey. One of the reaaons why I wanted to make a DIY costume is to save some bucks. But still I went ahead to see if there's something I can find in there. And oh yeah, I found fabric heaven!

image

They sell fabric scraps (I think that's what you can call it). Those pieces of fabrics that were not sold to the last customer because it's either too little or too big to give away. And what's more is I found the colors I wanted for my daughter's dress! At a much cheaper price! HEAVEN!

I was so excited with the fabrics I bought, I immediately started off with sewing the skirt. I made three layers for the skirt.

image

The first layer is the one that would touch my daughter's skin. The fabric is soft so I know she won't get irritated or feel uneasy while we're trick or treating. Oh no, you do not want to be within my daughter's reach when she's uncomfortable. She is inexplicably grumpy. Cute but really really grumpy. I let my husband deal with her tantrums because well, that's what those muscles are for. Carrying a rogue baby.

image

Then I attached the second layer. This is what I'd like to call the fluffy layer. To be honest, I was already contented with the two layers. But when my husband saw the partially finished product, he said he wanted another layer with all those crisscross design. I defended my two-layer skirt. But then he said it looks more like a gown than Moana's skirt. I let him win. Yes, I did let him win this round.

image

So I drew triangles on a fabric folded four times. Then I cut the insides. I ran a zigzaggy stitch in the sewing machine for the edges. And I'm glad I let my husband win our argument.

image

I redid the belt. The original was 250 stitches long with three layers of HDC. I made a 150st long belt with 5 layers of HDC and 1 layer of SC. I then went ahead and attached it to the top most layer of the skirt.

image

And there you go! The first costume/dress I ever made in my entire life. I feel so happy. And accomplished. And contented.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥


image




Discord link

romeskie.png

Sort:  

I love the dress - it's great how much work and imagination you put into it. I hope you and your daughter have a lot of fun at halloween :)

And I'm glad my husband participated in throwing in ideas for the project. Haha

The whole family involved: the parents in creating it and the daughter in wearing it :)

Yeeaaaaahh great its monday again Thanks for sharing your needling work 😉

I finished this last saturday. I am so excited to share it with the needleworkmonday family. :-)

Well done! It's fun to know many needlework techniques so you can combine sewing and crochet or knit/crochet/embroidery. The more we learn, the more fun we can have.

Exactly - like I used for the bag which I wrote about here in July: Crochet for the upper border and the bottom because it makes a firm fabric and crochet for the "body" because it so stretchy :)

grafik.png

Wow! That's a very beautiful bag!

Thanks! ❤❤❤ I never really appreciated the stuff my mom taught me when I was young. I thought knitting, crocheting amd sewing are boring. I didn't expect I'd have fun. LOL

I wanted to learn to do all my Mom's skills. We did hairpin lace, broomstick lace, costumes, tailoring, alterations. One of my sisters preferred the kitchen, so she learned all of Granny's cooking secrets while I learned Mom's needlework skills.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you. More power to you guys!

Wonderful job Mama!!! The dress looks so lovely! I love how you combined crocheting and sewing together!! This is one of the reasons I am currently learning to sew. I too want to combine crocheting with it and knitting and whatever else I learn Lol!! I’m glad you allowed for your husband’s input because the added detail really brung out the Moana in that dress!! Job well done and I’m sure your daughter loves it!

Thanks so much for sharing this inspiring work!! Yay!!!

If you would like to share your work with the community on days other than Monday, please use the #needlework tag (without the word Monday attached)! Thank you ~

Thanks @crosheille! I had a lot of fun working on this dress. And it's thanks to the needleworkmonday community that I had the drive to actually finish this project. You all inspired me.

Yay that’s what I love to hear! I am so glad you feel inspired and motivated!!!

Congratulations @romeskie! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Thank you for the feature! 😍😍😍

really beautiful project! well done!

Thanks! Glad you like it as much as I and my husband and my daughter do. 😊

Very cute ! Love the colours of the threads that you used here and the skirt is so pretty !!! :D

Thanks! Moana's colours were a bit hard to find. But it was worth all the effort.

Wow, this came out super cute!! ♥
My daughter wants to know, how do you attach the fabric to the crocheted part?

Hi! Thanks! :-) The top part of the skirt actually is the tricky part. I had to sew it separately first so I could insert a string to make it look like a skirt. And then I sew it to the crocheted top like a normal fabric. 20181027_103958.jpg
Now, I'm not sure if it will hold so I sewed it twice. Hehe

Thanks so much!! I showed her and she loves it. She needs to brush up on her crocheting skills but maybe she will try this sometime! ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65