My Crochet Project: My Daughter's Halloween Costume

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

image

A couple of weeks ago, my husband told me he wanted our daughter to join the Halloween party theybare holding in their office. I was like "Ok, what costume do you want her to use?" Then I had a light bulb moment! It's my chance to finally work on a real project. A real costume! And for my daughter, no less!

So I asked him if he wanted her to be Tinkerbell. Or Elsa. Oh, we can do Princess Poppy! Everytime I suggested a costume, I picture the final product in my head! Then I asked him. "How about Moana?" It was like hearing the jackpot bells! "Ding! Ding! Ding! Ding! Ding!" It suits her since she has curly hair. I didn't wait for his OK. It is decided! My daughter will be Moana this Halloween!

And so my first costume crochet project was born. I searched for patterns in the internet but I just couldn't find anything that I can work with. So I went beyond the borders and journeyed into my imagination to create the costume of Moana.

I started with 95 chains. I just needed to measure the number of chains that would fit into my daughter's bust size. She's a two year old toddler, by the way and she loves it so much whenever I take her measurements. It's like she loves having new costumes.

image

Then I followed it with half double crochet. I could have done double crochets but I need my rounds to be a little smaller for what I'm about to do. I had to repeat these two steps over and over again because at first, I only did 75 chains. Then I did 85. Then I did 95. If you measure with just the chains, it felt like it could fit. But when the hdc's come in, they suddenly won't fit. So I had to undo and redo the process for a couple of tries.

image

Overall, there should be 24 rounds of hdc's each with 95 stitch counts. It will be a plain orange canvas where you can draw the design later. I guess it's because I am new to this, that's why it took me 3 or 4 days to finish all 24 rounds.

image

This is the exciting part! I put down my crochet needle and start working with a not so regular needle that has a very large hole so the yarn could fit in. I'm not sure what kind of stitch I used for the lines at the top of the costume but the front side looks like this:

image

It lookes like a machine stitch but at the back side, it looks like this:

image

My mom taught me the different kind of stitches but for the love of me, I don't remember their names! Not all of them anyways.

There should be two brown lines like that as shown below:

image

For the next step, I know it's called chain stitch. But the tricky part is how to do the chain stitch with all the curves that the design has. So I had to do a temporary stitch to draw the curves before I actually do the chain stitch.

image

For this stitch, I used a white yarn. I needed to unstitch and restitch several times before I gave up I felt contented with the result.

image

So I made two of those curvy lines. I was literally holding my breath til I finished stitching the last chain. I was both nervous and excited!

image

By the way, during the entire time I was making this costume, I was singing either Maui's "Hey it's okay, it's okay you're welcome... or Moana's How far I'll goooooo..." It kinda adds to the mood and the inspiration. Plus my kid loves dancing so she's dancing while I was singing.

So anyway, the next part is just the same as the first design.

image

After this stitch, there's like a flower or a star or some tribal design on Moana's blouse. I went for the star. It's far easier to make. LOL!

image

Then the final stitch. Just do the first line again after the stars.

I could have finished this with no straps but if you know my kid, she would have removed the costume very easily so I had to secure it. I made two sets of hdc's with 50 stitch counts each.

image

Let's not forget about the belt. This is the easiest part. 3 rounds of double crochet with 250 stitch count. I'll just have to iron this one.

image

And there you go. We now have my daughter's Moana costume.

image

All that's missing now is the tulle fabric for her skirt. I'll be making a tutu for the skirt which I'll attatch on the last round of hdc's on the hemline of this blouse. Can't wait for my fabrics to arrive!

I had so much fun making this blouse. Technically, this is my first really big crochet project. When I finally see the dress altogether, while my baby is wearing it, I sure will remember all the moments she and I shared while I was making the costume. I promise I'll hold back the tears. LOL!

I will share my finished product once it's done.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥


image




Discord link

romeskie.png

Sort:  

That's so awesome! Great work! Homemade costumes are the best.

Thanks! I can't believe I was able to actually finish the crochet part of this costume. My daughter's gonna have a photoshoot once this is complete. Hehe

Lovely - looking forward to seeing the finished costume :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63