Needleworkmonday: Maybelle Flower Crochet Coasters

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

Heya needleworkers! Hope we all had a wonderful weekend. I know I did. A friend of mine requested for a set of coasters with Maybelle flowers design. I didn't k ow how to make those but when she said she is gifting it to her aunt who is going back to Switzerland, I thought I'd search for a pattern.

The thought of my work going all the way to Switzerland got me excited. I may not be able to travel outside of the country but at least a part of me will. (I intend to travel all 7100 islands of the Philippines first before going abroad.)

image

The Maybelle crochet pattern was surprusingly easy to follow. I used a size 3.0 hook for this project.

image

First thing to do is to do 10 chains. I tried doing 10 chains but my coasters ended up having a huge hole in the middle. I didn't like it so I made only 8 chains.

image

The second round starts with 3 chains counted as 1 dc and then 23 dcs. Slip stitch on the third chain. It's pretty simple and straightforward. You'll end with a little circle of double crochets.

image

The third round is a little tricky but you'll just have to follow a pattern so it's still not that complicated. Ch5, skip two dc spaces, then sc on the thirds dc space. After that, ch4, skip 2 dc spaces then sc on the 3rd dc space.

image

Repeat until you've covered the whole round of dcs. Slip stitch on the first chain.

image

For the next round, slip stitch into the chain space. Make 3 chains which will be counted as 1dc, make 1 dc, 2ch and another 2dc, then 1ch. Make 2dcs into the next chain space, 2ch and another 2dcs then 1ch. Repeat until you've covered all the ch spaces. Sl st into the third chain you made at the start of the round.

image

You should end with an octagonal bagua looking thingy.

image

Now for the last round and also the cutest round, sl st into the first dc space then sl st i to the chain space. Make 3 chains and then 6dcs. Sc into the next chain space. You should see a petal looking set of dcs.

image

Then make 7dcs into the next 2ch spaces. And then sc into the next ch space. I really like this round so much I can't take enough pictures of it.

image

Continue on until the last 2ch spaces. Sl stitch into the third chain you made at the start of the round. Cast o.

image

My friend just wanted a single color for all of her orders but I think it would be nicer to have multiple colors in a set. It would be like a colorful garden of maybelle flower coasters.

image

I'll have to make a couple more to complete the set. These babies are going to Switzerland! Woot! Woot!

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥

image

image

image

Sort:  

So cool to have them going to Switzerland! You should definitely make some with a variety of colors!

You bet! My mom in law's birthday is coming up. I'll gift her some colorful maybelle coasters.

I like those flowers, @romeskie. I remember making a red set flowers sewn together like a doily for my grandma years (and years) ago :D

Nice! I haven't made a huge project so far, you gave me an idea! Thanks @cryptocariad!

You're very welcome, @romeskie... So with thick cottons you could make a few into doilies... With finer yarn you could make them into a shawl or scarf :) You'll be crocheting the design in your sleep :D

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Crochetiful coasters! What crochet group you belong dito sa Pinas? Do you have fb page?

Posted using Partiko Android

Wala akong crochet group sa Pinas. I have an album on my fb page. Hehe. Same name lang po sa fb. Rome Skie. Same din ang profile pic. :-)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Super cute flower you made. This is so lovely and that they will make such a long journey is amazing. A good friend of mine is immigrated to Switzerland and is very happy there (but she told me everything is madly expensive)
I hope you will see all the islands (7100 WOOOOOW) and share some photos with us <3

Thanks! I still have a looooong way to go. Once I am able to start travelling again, I'll definitely share everything here on steemit. :-)

That is really cool that your work will be traveling outside of the country! The coasters are really pretty! I really love the vibrant pink! 😍

Thanks for sharing and going through the pattern with us ~

I love the vibrant pink too but my friend wanted muted colors for her aunt so I had to make those lavender colored ones.

Another thing I have to learn since I look like I'm getting more serious about crocheting - colors. I am one of those people that think the only colores are ROYGBIV. Now I have to learn that blue has different colors of blue and pink has other colors too. Haha

Oh yes absolutely! The color spectrum of yarn is endless!!!! 😍😄

Congratulations @romeskie! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

I was attracted to your beautiful work.
The process you are working on is written very carefully and I was attracted to that as well.

Thank you for your nice words. :-) I'm trying to learn new crochet techniques and designs and these patterns I find online are really helpful. I thought of returning the favor by sharing the same here on Steemit. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86