Mending Mishaps! aka Shortcuts Don't Always Work. Happy #NeedleworkMonday ;)

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Last #NeedleworkMonday, @redbone had a great post about mending and I felt very inspired to tackle mending a favorite jacket of the Husband's. (A rather broad hint from the Husband may have had something to do with the inspiration, too. I don't blame him because I volunteered and made him all happy, and then I put it off.)

What needed mending was a hole in the back hem. Behold, the hole:

1.jpg

Behold, the guilty party:

7.jpg

Anyway, since that canvas fabric is so thick and heavy, I had had the bright idea to put a flannel binding across the back edge, and just cover up the whole hem, instead of trying to match and patch the hole alone. I got the Husband's approval on a flannel piece that I'd bought on impulse 5 years ago, I think with the ambitious idea of making pajama pants that never happened. I measured the hem and doubled the width measurement mentally (anybody already see where I screwed up?). Ironed the fabric, cursed it while trying to straighten the grainline so the plaid lines wouldn't be wobbly, marked it, and cut it out. I even got as far as ironing the edges in, folding it in half and pressing it...

3.jpg

...before realizing I'd goofed. I should've doubled that width measurement twice in order to have double binding wide enough to wrap around to the back of the hem. As double binding, this was only half the width I needed. Now what? Wing it with a "single binding" (is that even a thing?), or cut another piece? I hate wasting fabric, and there was just enough left on that flannel piece to use on the back of a lap blanket. I decided a single layer of fabric would suffice. (Mistake #2.)

Naturally, my distractions helpers (I'm kidding, I really do like having them hang out with me) had taken all of 2 minutes to hunt me down and install themselves close at hand.

8.jpg
Colorful spools of thread never get old. I remember getting as much endless entertainment from sorting through my mom's collection of embroidery thread.

9.jpg
Playing with a little farmer figurine

I serged one edge of the flannel, and then sewed the other edge to the outside of the jacket. So far, so good. Then I tried to fold it around to the back...uh oh. I should have allowed for the thickness of the canvas when measuring, because I couldn't get the edge of the flannel to stretch as far as the stitching line. You know how sometimes you get this fatalistic feeling that things just are NOT going to go your way?

5.jpg
My stubbornness rose to the occasion and told me that I could make this work.

Hmm. Let's see, either I can pick out the stitches and try again, or I can stretch the flannel as far as I can and try doing a zigzag stitch to catch that edge. Yep, I'll do that. Anything to avoid breaking out the seam ripper. At this point I should have realized I was making a series of mistakes thanks to attempting shortcuts, but nope, I just had to find it out the hard way. I got done sewing and admired the tidy outside edge:

10.jpg

And then I flipped the jacket over.

11.jpg

GAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

Time for the white flag of surrender, and to break out the seam ripper. It's a good thing they don't measure mileage because boy, has mine done a whole lot of picking out stitches.

6.jpg
Best gift idea for anybody who sews: a full size, super nice quality seam ripper. You might as well revel in a tad bit of luxury while sulking over whatever you messed up.

I packed away all evidence of my failed mending mission, and decided to soothe my soul by embarking on another set of placemats. I should mention that this entire time, the Husband had been kicked back and watching the Masters on TV. I hadn't gotten five minutes into sewing patchwork squares together when he moseyed along and said, "I thought you were going to fix my jacket!"

I'm sure you can appropriately imagine my inner reaction. But I kept my response civil and informed him that I had in fact been wrestling with his jacket for quite some time. This whole time since lunch! Being a smart man, he recognized when to drop the subject, hahaha.

So his jacket is still draped over a chair in my sewing room. Meanwhile, I have 3 of these placemats done, and am nearly finished with the fourth. Then I'll make a matching trivet as a bonus :) I'm amazed by how much more streamlined they seem when I don't put binding on the edges; it changes up the whole feel as well as the look.

IMG_5432.jpg
Each placemat has a different arrangement to the squares, but they each have 6 chickens :)

IMG_5431.jpg
Reverse sides!

Definitely feeling better after accomplishing something, and lessons learned for next time! Happy #NeedleworkMonday everyone!!

Sort:  

Hello @mtnmeadowmomma, thank you for sharing this creative work! If you're interested, take a look at our magazine @creativecrypto. We are all about art on the blockchain, and learning from creatives like you. Swing by and say hello!


Hi @mtnmeadowmomma, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Coffee Hour at 3pm EDT in the Steemit Fiberartists on Discord.

Thank you so much for including it! :)

Love the placemats. The binding-less-ness is cute and saves a bunch of time! You just folded in the edges and sewed around? That's a great idea! That stinks that the jacket didn't work for you...yet. I would probably cut off some of the bottom of the jacket since it wouldn't be seen and then use the same flannel fabric to cover it up. :) It might look weird after it gets washed and wrinkles up and misses the structure of the canvas. Seam rippers...oh so much fun. This quilt I'm doing I haven't gotten mine out yet. I just keep using the scissors to tear out what I mess up. It takes forever. ;)

Actually I sewed the placemats with the right sides together, leaving a couple inches open on side, then turned them right side out and handstitched the opening closed. Then I stitched 1/4" from the edge to keep the seam allowance in place. I've thought of just folding in the edges, but I'm a little dubious about how the corners will turn out if I do that. I might try that tactic on the next set as an experiment.

You bring up a good point about the missing canvas causing the jacket to look funny in that spot...hmmm...I might try stitching some old uniform fabric or something into that spot to "fill it in" and then put something over the top of that. Hopefully next Monday I'll have an update :)))

That sounds like a great way to make the placemats! I seriously am going to do that! I just wonder how many I can get done before my parents come in June if I'm only sewing a few hours on the weekend...and have a hundred other projects. Ha!

Ha is right!! I add in a fleece layer in the middle, I forgot to mention that. For the first time ever I actually timed how long it took me to make this set of 4 and it took around 6.5 hours total, not counting cutting out the patchwork squares...but it did count the probably half hour I spent dealing with a jamming bobbin, so maybe 6 hours is a better estimate. And seeing how quickly your quilt came together, you may be faster at sewing than I am, LOL :)

Ok nice! Does give it a little more stability to have something in the middle! I see how you made little stars to quilt it. 6 hours for 4 is pretty good. I'll have to figure out what I'm going to do with mine and get it going!! :)

It helps pad and smooth out the feel of the inner seams from the patchwork, plus I figure it's even more protection for the tabletop from warm plates and cold glasses. I like the anti-pill fleece from Joann because it's thin like low-loft batting. Normally I do much more quilting, but figured I'd see how these look after being washed :)

Nice - that is a good thought about having a little more protection for the table!

I laughed, and groaned through this whole post. The groans were because, well, I can really relate! Husband trying not to nag, but wondering what the heck happened to that mending I was going to "quickly" do for him; easily becoming distracted by a fun project I would really rather be doing; bad dog. Thanks for sharing!

Hopefully the poor Husband will get his jacket back before next winter, LOL :))) Placemats and quilts are soooo much more fun than mending, I have to admit...

I feel as if we are sisters :-D I can so see myself going on with the project although I already know that it will not work out. Also, the idea to save the fabric... so me 😆😆
But I am double sorry for you, because you are working on a project not for yourself but for your husband. For me this would mean extra pressure to make it right (and perhaps extra fear of failing) Mending the jacket sounds really complicated and I cross my fingers that you will get it done.
The placemats are again beautiful, especially the light blue one.

We're sewing sisters :))) You have a good point...the fact that it wasn't my own jacket did add a little extra pressure! I think it was only complicated because I'm not experienced with mending. I'll take another stab at it later today, hopefully. Thank you for the compliment on the placemats!

I honestly can't say how many tines this has happened to me. Look how innocent the guilty party looks! Lol! What an irony. Someday the jacket will live again. And your babies were so eager to help out, or have fun trying to help out as the case may be.
But your placement mats is out of this world I love the yellow one with the chickens on them. If I had a way to get it I honestly would've saved up for it. It is so beautiful. Thanks for showing us both the almost accomplished and the accomplished work 🙂

Thank you for the compliment on the placemats! It's so encouraging to hear how much folks like them! Hopefully I'll get them done and posted on Etsy in the next day or so :) as for that jacket, I'm telling myself that I WILL get it done this week...

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Happy #needleworkmonday to you also! And AGH mental math! I can relate to that struggle 😂

Math is definitely NOT my strong point. Throw in distractions and it's a 100% guarantee I'll mess it up!!

Hey! Voting on this post since your @ocd nomination was already paid out! :)

Hi there! :) Thank you so very much!! I greatly appreciate it <3

Hahaha! Oh no! Why can’t forcing a mistake to work never work out in the end? At least your husband wasn’t hard on you. He’ll get his jacket back one of these days.

It may not be before winter is (finally) over😜 but I'm sure I'll get around to it before next fall haha. I know, nine times out of ten trying to force it will backfire...I don't know why human nature pins its hope on the idea that this time will be that 1 in 10 chance that it'll work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44