Hood

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

I shared a dyeing technique yesterday https://steemit.com/crafts/@kimmac/a-handpainted-dye-technique.
And here's the hat I made with the yarn:

IMG_2382.JPG

No model was available today, but this will give you an idea of how it looks on a human.
IMG_1661.JPG

Both are made with hand-dyed yarns, but the newest hat is made from hand painted yarns while the other one was made from vat dyed ones. That's the fun part about dyeing, you can have more control over the end results though I prefer not to get too set on an end result. I like surprises better.

Sort:  

Very Nice! Those colors are gorgeous!!! I love the style of it. It is like the crochet fairy hat I made for my daughter!

DBA69663-3693-4D16-9F82-3700A30E050C.jpeg

That is so cool! Your daughter must love it!!!

That is too cute, @kimmac... I hope the wearer appreciates it and has lots of fun wearing it :D

Thanks @cryptocariad! I think I'm going to try to sell it on the holiday tour coming up in about a month.

The colors remind me of autumn leaves against a blue sky! Beautiful pairing!

Thanks @jamethiel! I can see the leaves and sky now!

I got an inexpensive Styrofoam head at Hobby Lobby for photographing my hats, since I often cannot find a model when I need one.

I have to get one soon! I don't have chain stores close to me, but I can make a special trip. Thanks for the tip!

I like the way the colours shade through the yarn. I went back to your previous post to see how you coloured the yarn. I guess you have also done a yarn painting post? I bought a starter kit of fabric dyes at the Show at the weekend. I had only thought about them for colouring fabric, but now I'm wondering about other things.

gooooo @shanibeer start yarn dyeing.... it is so addictive, it is like a drug! (I am not sure if my advertising is good, I will work on a new campaign :-D) But really, I would love to paint all yarn of the world, it is so satisfying (sadly also expensive, the undyed yarn is not cheap) And I am sure I already showed you this, but I cannot resist... (please @kimmac be lenient, I know you are doing this professional and your yarn is absolutely stunning, but I am so proud of my little experiments)

20170821_125314622_iOS.jpg

this was for a friend who loves pastel shades for socks

20170915_055631760_iOS.jpg

and these I firstly did not like, but I used them for a cardigan and it turned out ok, I think.
20170905_063707831_iOS.jpg

https://www.ravelry.com/projects/Sommerfell/ramona-light

So sorry again, but I could not contain myself
@kimmac perhaps you would like to make another yarn dyeing post? I would be highly interested <3

@neumannsalva, those are beautiful! Thanks for sharing them! I agree that dyeing is addictive. I hope @shanibeer catches the bug too!

Thanks @shanibeer! In my experience, plant fibers require different dyes. I use procion dyes for cotton and linen. (Procion also works for silk!) Protein fiber which include silk usually require a different type of dye. I use acid dyes, and the "acid" refers to the acidity of the vinegar or citric acid required to bind them to the fibers, so it's not as scary as it sounds.
What kind of dye came in your starter kit? I'm looking forward to seeing what you do!
Also, I only did one dye tutorial. That was the hand painting one I just posted a few days ago. Hopefully, I will show vat dyeing with both procion and acid dyes in the future.

Congratulations @kimmac! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The color combinations are sooooo lovely! You have such a good eye for this. The pattern you used let the hat appear as a painting, a real artwork.

Thanks @neumannsalva! There's always that surprise element when you use these types of yarns. I love your yarn and the first thing I thought of was imagining what it would look like knitted up. :)

Thank you so much, thats means a lot from you <3
And the yellow one you can see knit here:
https://www.ravelry.com/projects/Sommerfell/ramona-light

I just went over there and looked! You dyed enough for a cardigan! Gorgeous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54