Needleworkmonday- I dislike this vest 4-8-2019steemCreated with Sketch.

Way back when I was learning to knit I made a vest. And after I tried it on, I discovered how much I disliked the fit.
20190408_114746.jpg

The original pattern was free from Lion brand and looked cute...
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/vest-in-a-jiffy-knit

But after I finished it... the shoulders were too narrow and it didn't have pockets. It needed those pockets.

20190408_114721.jpg

And I widened the shoulders. It hangs better and looks better. But I don't wear it often because it still doesn't quite hang right. It was really designed for someone who doesn't have shoulders like a blacksmith and a chest with... huge tracts of land.

So... I need recommendations. I want a vest with armholes and shoulders that work right. Nothing too fancy as I don't do lacey knitting. Hip length. With an area I can add pockets if it doesn't come with one.
Something that will have some decent chest coverage instead of draping to the armpit side.

A. Simple. Pattern.
Any ones YOU recommend?

The blanket is slowly coming along, no picture today, probably next week. :)

Happy #needleworkmonday!

Sort:  

What about this? It has pockets and only some ribbing as decoration.

That’s a good one. Bookmarking!

I like it, it looks like I can make it without the hood. It is a bit short but that is adjustable... thanks for the link!

You set a difficult task :) I would rework the edging of the neck, armhole and front parts. You can use a different color of yarn to make the vest more effective. the edging of the front parts, I would not knit a pattern "gum" but with a pattern: 1 face loop x 1 back loop (on the wrong side is the same). we call this pattern "confusion" or "rice". This pattern has many modifications. he lays down more evenly and holds his form better. I would knit the edging of the neck and the armhole with a periodic subtraction inside the row (2 loops to knit together) so that the knitting would go evenly in shape. I usually try on things during the work to see how it lays on the figure and to decide how much more reductions are needed.
I am very interested in what you decide to do

I will probably keep the vest as a reminder that patterns should be looked at very carefully before getting too involved with them. Unless I need the yarn to make the next vest... then it will get frogged! I have several more skeins of that red yarn so I have something to start another one with.
I like your advice on how to rebuild the arm hole area and will think about it. I actually have rebuilt it twice already and this was the best I knew how to do at the time. :)

Beautiful patterns have left you, I'm sure to stay beautiful

Ahhhh I am too late :-D I wanted to use your post as a excuse to browse Ravelry for hours, but the pattern from @muscara is perfect. The only addition I have is, that the pattern is worked bottom up and I understand that your problems with your vest is more in the upper body (back and bust) So, if I where you I would knit the pattern upside down, meaning top-down 😂 I also have a wide back and a wide rib cage, but a very small bust line. In combination with thick arms this causes different problems (most patterns which would fit my bust are much to small at my waist or arms). Nevertheless, my problems occur also on the top, so I mostly try to knit top down constructions. For me the classic raglan fits well, but I read that it is not so nice on a bigger bust. But I could imagine you could use another top-down construction where you first knit the back flat, than pick up stitches for the shoulders. When back and front parts are long enough you put everything on one needle and simply knit the vest/cardigan/sweater as long as you like. This gives a lot of control about the back and bust width. As you want a vest you do not need to add sleeves, perhaps just a bit of ribbing around the armholes.
Here is a link with a better explanations than mine:
http://www.basixknitting.com/anatomy-of-a-top-down-sweater/
I guess it would be possible to individualise a vest pattern with this technique.

I hope I don’t wrote something you already know as you are much more accomplished in knitting than me.

And just because I love to browse Ravelry: here are some vests which seem to have a wider back.
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/syncopated
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/alastair-ves

Lol... you have done SO much more than me with knitting. I have not made anything larger that this Vest. Do not fool yourself into thinking that I am an expert!
I like both vests! I like the thickness of the Alastair Vest. Am thinking that I can simplify it a bit and make it fit ok.

I definitely am going to check out that link about building a sweater, it may help a bunch with planning this out!

Well, I have broad shoulders and a big rib cage too, so I can understand that some things work and others don’t.
I imagine you’re probably going to like @muscara’s suggestion, but I made 2 vests from this pattern.
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ebony-7
I made mine a little shorter, and I practically live in one of them. The most complicated part is shortrowing a few rows in the back. (I think this is perfect for our broad shoulders.) Otherwise, it’s simple. Even the pockets are easy!

I like that pattern! Any specific changes you did to turn it into a vest? It looks very close to my needs!

No except for shortening the length a little ‘cause I have short legs. 🙂
Long vest but perfect silhouette with the little decreasing at the waist, but that’s written in the pattern.

And you left the front open instead of knitting it solid?

I didn’t. I love that kind of neck. Maybe not traditionally vest shaped for you. 🙁
Of course, you could pick up neck stitches and do a ribbed neckband. It would be slightly squarish, but not overly so. Maybe garter stitch would look good. hmmmmm
I know how it is. That’s why we spend so much time looking for patterns. I’m in the middle of that process myself.

I like the tunic as a tunic and am thinking that I will try it too. The neck is fun and the pockets would be nice to have.

Thank you! If it wasn't such a weird fit, I would like it more. I love the yarn and color.

Too bad you don't like it, @jamethiel. I've crocheted a few things I neve wear for different reasons ( main one being too tight for my liking). Have you considered designing your own pattern ?

I've had this pattern on my 'to-do' list for a bit; it's got pockets and it looks warm.

I normally never get to the stage of wearing a sleeveless cardigan; it's mainly 'fleece and scarf indoors' or denim work jacket to go outside and avoid the pesky 'stinging nettle' and brambles from reaching my arms when working :D

I have definitely thought about designing my own pattern. If I had time and was more comfortable with figuring out this stuff, I would have done it by now.
Thank you for sharing that pattern, I will dive into it a bit and see if there is anything that I question. I have learned a lot about reading patterns over the last few years and I can usually tell when the pattern will be too much of a challenge.

I like wearing vests at work as the office can be a bit chilly. I don't wear sweaters too often since hot flashes are not predictable. It is easier to lose a vest to cool down than to change outfits completely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78