You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Needleworkmonday- I dislike this vest 4-8-2019

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

You set a difficult task :) I would rework the edging of the neck, armhole and front parts. You can use a different color of yarn to make the vest more effective. the edging of the front parts, I would not knit a pattern "gum" but with a pattern: 1 face loop x 1 back loop (on the wrong side is the same). we call this pattern "confusion" or "rice". This pattern has many modifications. he lays down more evenly and holds his form better. I would knit the edging of the neck and the armhole with a periodic subtraction inside the row (2 loops to knit together) so that the knitting would go evenly in shape. I usually try on things during the work to see how it lays on the figure and to decide how much more reductions are needed.
I am very interested in what you decide to do

Sort:  

I will probably keep the vest as a reminder that patterns should be looked at very carefully before getting too involved with them. Unless I need the yarn to make the next vest... then it will get frogged! I have several more skeins of that red yarn so I have something to start another one with.
I like your advice on how to rebuild the arm hole area and will think about it. I actually have rebuilt it twice already and this was the best I knew how to do at the time. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90