My First Virus Blanket

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

closer to the finish.JPG
Once in a great while, I surprise myself at what I can do or set out to do. I am not conceited by any mean; I am just totally and utterly amazed that I can carry a big project to nearly completion.

closer to the finish 1.jpg
Every single moment I had, I devoted in crocheting this virus blanket. I like that fact that it is working in rounds. So I can finish whenever I want or make it as big as I would like to, or better yet, use up all the 3 skeins of yarn that I have.

closer to the finish 2.jpg
I am officially almost finished! I ran out of the red yarn, and the black yarn! I spread it out on a full size bed, and it is very close to cover the surface. I probably need another few rounds and waiting to buy more black yarn to truly fitting the bed.

Text and Photos @IcyBC All Rights Reserved!

Sort:  

Congrats on getting this finished! (almost) Its always nice to get through a big project :)

Thank you...I still have some time, and if I can't find the matching black yarn, I will call it finished!! :-)

It's amazing, I also love this crochet style.

Thank you! It is easier than I thought! The pattern is repeating with each round, so I was good to go even after a few days away from it..

This is a beautiful blanket, I especially like the colours and the stitch. It is so rewarding when you see a lovely project like this coming to fruition.

Thank you! Yes, it is very rewarding to see it somewhat almost finished!

The blanket is really impressive and your stitches are so neat. That's one thing I still have to learn be it in crochet or in knitting.

Thank you! I was taught by some very mean nuns, and if it is not neat, my hands would get the punishment! So I kind of having to thanks them :-)

Wow o Wow you’re fast! Look at all of this progress since you first showed us last week. It is B-EAU-TI-FUL!!! Your daughter will fall quickly in love! You should be proud, there’s no shame in that. You’ve accomplished a lot!

Thank you! Between you and me, I don't think she would know that it won't actually fit the full size bed completely unless she spreads it on it..I will find another skein of black that matched, and add it on later.

You’re welcome!

That’s the joy of crafting...you can always add to your projects later! 😉

This is really good. And glad you are able to complete it. When are you giving it to your daughter? lol.....anyway i love personal love hand made stuff.

EDIT - And by the way, i featured you in my daily curation project Xposed Curator's Rebound.

You may find details about this initiative here Xposed Curator's Rebound
Otherwise Here is a link to the featured Post:

https://steemit.com/curation/@mirrors/xposed-curator-s-rebound-16

My hope is to bring you some much needed exposure and rewards.

EDIT - meanwhile, i recommend you follow the @asapers. They are a group that supports, curates and promotes the quality works of their followers. You works are obviously quality, and fit the standards @asapers curates.


Congratulations, and best wishes.

I hope it leads some traffic here, and gets your post rewarded.

My best wishes.

Thank you! I will give it to her for her birthday in August, along with another handmade item!

@mirrors, I joined a couple of groups, and delegated some SP because it was mandated! Once a month I got an upvote from them, and then the members in the so called "family" put me on their auto-vote trail..I usually get from 49-60 votes per post, at 0%=0.00000 value and my post is worth .10-.15..I don't know these IDIOTS, and they don't bother to even know what blog looks like, just it voting at 0%=0.000 value, and they called that support! Keep in mind these stupid people also have higher reputation score than me too!

I am now weary of groups!

Hahahahh...i am actually laughing! @icybc you just made my evening! Its is evening in my country!

Trust me they are probably just about what you have called them - idots- if they made delegating your SP mandatory to belong, irrespective of their REPUTATIONS!! (speaking of reputation, this post i previously wrote may interest you, and maybe give a clue as to why their reputations probably mean nothing)

Any group that asks you to give something in return, anything....is a bunch of profiteers...Run away when you see such!

So really i can understand your frustration. With @asapers you shouldn't even worry about anything. In deed there are no grantees. You follow them, and that is all. They have scouts who manually read through the blogs of their followers everyday (i am actually one of them), and when they find a quality post by one of their followers, they upvote. No requirements, and no guarantees!

So basically whether or not you follow them, the only guarantee is quality work. I still recommend you follow @asapers, give groups one last chance, lol...

There is no harm after all, in following. What i want is to make sure your quality work becomes eligible for their support, which is not so big yet, but is at least something when they hit on you. At any rate, whether or not they ever really upvote/support you doesn't matter, as you in deed lose nothing!

Except i know that they will, so long as work is quality. Because the curators have to verify it (no guaranteed blind voting!)

And being privy to the 'inside' i can only assure you that things will only get better.

Otherwise trust me, i understand. There are so many posturing groups scheming to profit from 'helping'!

I will take your advise and follow @asapers, and like you said, there is nothing to loose.

I am lacked of a better word to call those brainless humans, and seeing their stupid auto-votes has taken the joy out of posting for me. It weights me down like a sinker :-)

Glad you had a good laugh, understanding my frustration, and what country are you in? It is early evening here in the US too..

Its midnight here! UGANDA

Congrats @icybc! The blanket is lovely!!! Your daughter would love it. I know I would :)

Thank you...

you persisted and it nearly done and so biiiiig!!!! I still love the stitch pattern and the stitch definition is perfect with your yarn.

Thank you! The yarn is quite heavy, and I think blanket is best for it!

wow !!!!! great !!!!! I really like how the blanket looks: very rich!

Thank you!

Oh wow, it looks really cool!
Somehow, I always associate round way of crochet with floor mats, but now I realize, of course, it does make sense to make a bed cover in this technique!
The colours give it a dramatic effect, really beautiful!

Thank you!
I think they also considered the new "granny squares", which I have yet to try! I don't like sewing, so that is the main problem :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45