Needle Work Monday. Time to stop putting the cart before the horse.

Placing my cart before the horse.

It's something I do, and I sabotage myself in the process.

When it became evident that I could no longer go out to work due to ill-health, I put my mind to work, determined to discover something I could do at home.

I was so focused on working, and working out what that would be posthaste, I skipped the part where I take time to get better and take the time for the creative discovery process.

I just wanted to get on with things.

But things are different, and I avoided facing just how different in my pursuit of occupational engagement.

I am different and I need to give myself time.

I have been unwell for quite some time.

In that time I tried my hand at a mountain of things to occupy myself. But I took them on not with a sense of now, but rather a notion of how can I turn this into something worthy.

In doing so I already declared in my mind that the days accomplishment was not worthy.

That it in fact fell short of an accomplishment no matter it's quality, because it was not part of my imagined potential pipe dreamed money spinner, that would return me my sense of worth, of financial and social contribution.

This week I decided to make a quilt.

PSX_20190218_184013.jpg

Not a conventional quilt, but a mishmash of all the half creations that I have piled up.

I call it my recovery / memory quilt. I am making one and I'm making it for me.

This is the start of the first panel.

I have a lot of content to potentially add.

PSX_20190111_083528.jpg

I don't know how long it will take. I have no time frame or expectation.

It is time to let go of these things in more than just this area of my life.


IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

Yeah I did the whole I am dying I need to create a legacy thing too but something in me has shifted of late.I am sort of reclaiming life after being half dead fuck sick, fuck diagnosis I am going to fight tooth and nail and live . I am not dead until I say so <3

I remember this when I was facing a long illness, rushing to fill the days with worthy things, determined to move on before I had really even understood what was happening to me "be a good girl, perform, achieve" echoed through my head. The recovery quilt is a very good idea. I hope you enjoy it and find harmony.

This is such a great idea! Take care of yourself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your recovery quilt reminded me of something I read in (I think) 'Women Who Run With the Wolves' - where in a therapy session women are told to create a piece of clothing which represents their life: everything from all the happy moments to all the sad ones. Then they were asked to destroy the piece of clothing, but the interesting thing happened, all of a sudden they wanted to keep it...

...that's the thing, as you say, it's your life, your journey, it's there to be lived and experienced as long as you are alive... and the money is only something that gives you certain opportunties, and it'll come too :DD

It looks like that quilt might become something precious and fascinating :DDD

sigh... I read your post and you wrote down the exact same thoughts I constantly have. I do not work any longer because of the migraines and I always ponder how I can turn something into money-work because I feel worthless without. But when I read 'my thoughts' written by you I again feel how wrong this is. As I know how valuable you are. Your post, your comments, your artworks everything helps me and enrichens my world. I am sure many others feel the same about you.
A world where the value of people is so tightly connected with money and work is sh** This world forgets all the emotional labour, all the connecting and creativity people bring into being without being paid for it or without their work being called officially a job.
(I hope I did not write too incongruent... )
And your recovery quilt is already wonderful! The design is bold and daring but also harmonious because of the colours and I love the phrase 'Pony club closed' :-D

A beautiful quilt! It is good it makes you busy. Busy to recovery. Prayer sent, be well...

Posted using Partiko Android

May it help you find where you are headed. This piece is a great start!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64074.25
ETH 3195.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62