Trying out my crochet pattern reading skills - finished baby cardigan

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

This is my second post on the making of @neumannsalva's baby cardigan pattern which she shared last Monday.

Before starting on the pattern my first question was ‘what age range’ is the pattern written for ? If I know the age range then I can imagine how big it should be when finished.

I shared some progress photos yesterday and below are a few more. It was great fun to crochet such a small garment and see it come together so quickly and the instructions were very clear too. Thanks, @neumannsalva ! 😍

As some of you know I don’t tend to follow patterns very much because I don’t always have the specific yarn that a project requires. For me trying this pattern was an exercise on ‘following written instructions'.

I took on the challenge and completed it - I’ve levelled up 😁.

The thickness of the yarn used and tension to follow are absolutely crucial. I didn’t have any cotton mix yarn. I think that the yarn used by @shanibeer looks better to achieve the expected final result. I am tempted to get some cotton mix just to try again actually :D

Perhaps including yarn wraps per inch could help to find substitutes.

I did get a crochet hook no. 5 with which I endeavoured to get the width and length required to achieve a tension of 10 rows x 12 stitches = 10cm.

Achieving the stitch count was easier than the row count for me. I had to compromise for a half double crochet stitch throughout. My understanding is that if you need 10 rows to achieve 10 cms, then each row should be 1cm.

Looking at the photos supplied in @neumannsalva’s pattern. I honestly have serious doubts as to whether or not I achieved the tension anyway.

Extra information like final measurements for ‘neck to end of sleeve' and width of the sleeve at the ‘cuff’ would help me further.

All in all it was an achievable project for me and I would recommend giving it a go.

After completing the cardigan I thought I could add some photos of ways to personalise it.

As an update, here are the measurements 'without stretching them' :D

and

Thank you :)


Here's my other post on this pattern:

https://steemit.com/crochet/@cryptocariad/trying-out-my-pattern-reading-skills-



All photos by @cryptocariad



🌻 Happy #needleworkmonday to you all 🌻
Thank you @crosheille and @crystalize for hosting the #needleworkmonday

Sort:  

I really like the cardigan with the white edging @cryptocariad! @muscara is right, it does have a Chanel feel to it, or maybe Laura Ashley or Dorothy Perkins too :) I like the addition of little hearts and is that a pocket? My hands are itchy to try now :D

Thank you @marblely ! I totally encourage you to try it because it is fast to crochet and the results are pleasing :D

This looks lovely, very neat. Interestingly, your measurements are almost the exactly the same as mine, my sleeves are a little shorter but I might have missed a row 😁. I had to change the stitch, too, to come close to a comparable tension. I think I used half treble (UK)? (That's what it is called in my little handbook). So many stitch variations and names ... before we get anywhere near yarns and individual tension! But a lovely easy pattern to start with 😊

Thanks and I'm really pleased our measurements are similar @shanibeer... perhaps I even added a row :D
Don't be put off by the different terms in crochet ; it's actually easier to read the diagrams 😊

Diagrams?! 😱

I quite like the cardi, especially the white edging. It makes you think of a classic Chanel jacket: clear form, contrast colour, no frills :)

But I agree that your chosen material make a difference and that get's bigger the thicker the yarn is. If you want a tight fabric that often gets very stiff, if you work more loosely the project tends to loose its form. And especially acrylics might deceive you: yarn from a skein that's soft to the touch can work out to be stiff and scratchy when it's crocheted or knitted ;)

Yes, I did think 'classic chanel' @muscara, when I picked that edging colour... I'm glad you thought of that too. I agree re draping and feel...

This looks beautiful.

Thank you very much @gmatthe2 :D

Ficou lindo!!!

Obrigada @cleateles, e você fez roupas de crochê?

Também faço! Assim que começar uma nova peça, posto aqui.

Isso seria muito bom, @cleateles. Eu adoraria ver suas criações :D
That would be very great. I would love to see your creations :D

you did very well !!!! cardigan gorgeous !!!! I like how you decorated it; especially liked the option with a swan. although the hearts look wonderful too!

Thank you @tali72. I also liked the swan, but my original idea was to make a mock 'Chanel classic' jacket :D

What a lovely little cardigan, I particularly like your personalization ideas, they add that extra something :D

I am with you on following precise instructions, I always find it challenging...

Thank you @vliet. This pattern is a very good 'basic/foundation' to add your own personal features like stripes, buttons, pockets or change the trimmings.

I thought this one was already done and looked good in your last post but wow the white trim really is a nice touch. You need a little boy option for the design though haha. A bear or a train something like that

It needed the final touches @steven-patrick... I have actually been looking at 'tractor applique ideas', but considering where we live, it would have to be ATVs and sheep.

The jacket is soooooo cute and I love the swan decoration <3
And you are right with the measurements... I think I must redo this pattern, because as I have written, I have no samples of this cardigan at home anymore which I could measure.
With the tension, this is always tricky. In my adult patterns I always write down, that I crochet/knit very loose, I do not know why I have forgotten to write it down here... But why the row count is so different...I have no idea (perhaps washing changed the measurements?? My friend measured her jacket and sent me the results)
Could you tell me the measurements you achieved?

For the yarn substitution I often use this website
https://yarnsub.com/
but perhaps you know it already :-D

Thank you @neumannsalva... Just made an update on the post above with the measurements I got.

I had seen that yarnsub website - have you still got the label of your yarn ? thanks :D

I don't think there's any problem with your pattern, but I think that it is important to include the yarn that you used : label / thickness and so on. I'm a 'visual person' so I can gauge things quite well which is why I don't think I achieved the (final) correct size.
I do not worry though, it was good to try and thanks for inviting us to try it.

Thank you so much for the update!!! THis is helpful. And I inserted a yarn photo into a comment to your other cardi post :-D

It’s Darling!! Congratulations on following a pattern quite well!!! 😃 I know @neumannsalva is feeling quite proud right now...proud of you for following through the pattern and proud of herself for making a readable pattern!

I love the white edging you chose as well. I really like the heart appliqués too! Yay this is great success! Thanks for sharing and inspiring!! 😘

Thank you @crosheille and you're welcome... Actually it is really thanks to @neumannsalva for letting us try out her pattern.
I'm looking forward to making a crocheted bookmark following your instructions in your next video... I'm not a crochet beginner but I can certainly do with polishing my techniques 😁

Definitely thanks to @neumannsalva! She’s such a generous soul and I’m so grateful for her sweet heart!

You are so kind! You are Definitely no beginner so how sweet of you to crochet along with me! Thank you!! ❤️☺️ Your support is greatly appreciated~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60181.64
ETH 2539.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46