Trying out my pattern reading skills ...

in #crochet6 years ago


Here's a sneak preview of what I have been working on. It is a baby cardigan crocheted following a pattern by @neumannsalva. You can see her post from last Monday here.

I don't normally follow written patterns as I tend to improvise too much and I never have the right materials. This pattern looked accessible for someone like me so I was tempted to try it out.

The original pattern was made using a cotton mix; I've had this ball of yarn waiting to be used (actually I've got two). It's acrylic but the colour was quite good for the project. I will hopefully post the finished garment photos tomorrow.

I haven't finished it yet as I still need to crochet along the edges.

The #needleworkmonday group has a wealth of talented and generous people who are ready to share their ideas and in this case the pattern was very clearly written.



photos by @cryptocariad



Sort:  

Sometimes simple and clean is a good design :) You have created a beautiful cardigan.

Thank you @steven-patrick... The pattern was clearly written which is a great.

It looks very good and I like the mottled effect. I finally learned how to do the sleeves, I practiced making a tube separately before trying it again on the jacket. It worked better this time and I only had one extra stitch!

Thank you @shanibeer... I look forward to seeing your finished version. I contained myself from making pockets and different stitches. It was good to just follow the pattern; it required discipline :D

Ooh, pockets! That's an idea. I guess once you have mastered the basic pattern, there can be all sorts of variations. Following the pattern can be very relaxing 😎

I agree, @shanibeer, I tend to think too much of the possible variations, eg you can actually make a hood for this cardigan by crocheting a big enough rectangle and then starting the increases...
I guess following a pattern can be relaxing once you have conquered the dreaded tension swatch 😂

A hood would be a nice variation. I wouldn't be sure where to start ... I'm starting to feel more comfortable about tension swatches, I've got a better idea of what I'm looking for, although with the moss stitch cardigan I did knit up a whole ball to check 😂

Wow look at you go! You and @shanibeer are getting me even more excited to make this! Heck I might try to squeeze in the time to get it done sooner now Lol!! You had a wonderful start to this and should be proud of yourself for giving this a go!!! 😃 I love the colors in that yarn!

Okay now I’m going to head over to read your recent post for today!! 😃

Thank you @crosheille... Yes, please give it a go and you can include a cute little model to show the cardigan - but as you know the little ones grow up so fast. I'm not sure how long I will have to wait for grandchildren 😁
Did you see the coincidence that @neumannsalva had used that colour yarn in another project ? That was amazing 😁

Yes I am definitely giving it a go!! I’m really glad I have her here to measure it on her as I go. I’ll probably have to make her another one right away because of that fact...they grow so fast.

Well when your grandchildren start to arrive I’m sure they’ll have plenty of beautiful handmade garments to wear from their skillful grandma. 😊

Yes I saw that!! That’s pretty darn amazing! 😃

Hola @cryptocariad,

Buen avance... Tejer para bebé es toda un aventura de amor y diversión.


Good progress ... Knitting for baby is an adventure of love and fun.

Gracias, @jicrochet... por cierto que es muy divertido y rápido :D
Thanks, indeed, it's fun and very quick :D

Ohhhh I am so excited!!! This is beautiful. And I am happy my notes were helpful (and not full of mistakes??) And you will smile, because I have made an adult cardigan in a very similar looking yarn which is sadly discontinued. Now I have hope, that you yarn may be very similar, so that I can substitute it... I wanted to write a pattern for this adult cardigan, but could not test crochet the pattern because of the missing yarn:
IMG_7144.JPG
My yarn is also acrylic and was avaliable in different shades with 100 g/200m
And as you can see I made a pattern with pockets :-D

So a big hurray and thank you for trying out my pattern <3 <3 <3
I am not sure if you have a ravelry account? If not, may I link your steemit post about this cardigan on my pattern page in ravelry (which I still have to create)?

Gosh it looks like the same yarn @neumannsalva ! Is it the same label you've got ? It's a Marriner brand and the colour is 'Safari'

I will be more than happy to send you what I've got left if you need any extra :D
Your notes were lovely and clear... it's just my laid back attitude that stops me from following anything to do with 'tension'... I guess.

I haven't got round to creating a Ravelry account so go ahead and link this one... we can promote 'steemit' too :D

Yesss thank you your post will be very helpful for others, so I will insert it into my pattern page on ravelry (which I still have to make - sigh )
And with the yarn... this is really strange: my yarn is from the Dutch discount shop Zeeman 20180731_091156566_iOS.jpg
20180731_091211575_iOS.jpg
It really looks very similar. The second yarn is the baby jacket yarn. It is also from a Dutch discount shop (Action) I do not think it will be listed on yarnsub.
Perhpas if the @needleworkmonday account skyrockets, I will be able to by better yarn :-D

Sorry... I just notice the photos are not readable
The Baby jacket yarn is this one:
https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/made-by-me-soft
and the yarn for the adult jacket is:
https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/zeeman-sophia

That's so interesting @neumannsalva. In the photo above the Sophia yarn looks a bit thicker than the one I've got, but the colour is the same... I will try to find the label again and will add a photo for completion :D

I totally agree about buying better quality yarn... I tend to do a lot of 'experiments' - my favourite pastime is just to learn stitches... not necessarily making anything (a bit terrible...).

After reading so much about the 'shedding' of polyester fibres when washing and plastic buildup in water... I feel a bit guilty and certainly will think twice about washing so much again :D

I like the yarn color @cryptocariad (I usually get mix colors to minus the effort of changing colors =D ) and the cardigan is looking good :) I tend to not follow patterns too and usually end up doing my own thing which in my case, may not turn out successful =D.

Thank you @marblely ! It doesn't normally turn out that well in my case - which is why I avoid making big garments. I tend to add crocheted or knitted sections to make up for badly calculated widths, but this pattern worked fine once I worked out the tension - it was not straightforward and I had to compromise on the length of the stitch :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47