NBA Summer League

in #nba8 years ago

NBA Summer League Review

As the 2016 NBA Summer League comes to its conclusion tonight with the finale between the #1 ranked Chicago Bulls and #24 ranked Minnesota Timberwolves, I have been impressed with this year's rookie class and the development of several second-year players.  This upcoming season should be a fun one for basketball fans.   

My All-Summer League Team is the following:

  • Jordan McCrae
  • Clinton Portis
  • Tyler Ulis
  • Tyus Jones
  • Jamal Murray
  • Bubble: Patrick McCaw

There are several notable exceptions, either because of injury or because they sat out several games.  Those include:

  • Devin Booker
  • Kris Dunn
  • Ben Simmons
  • Terry Rozier
  • D'Angelo Russell

The NBA should be very happy with the crowds that it drew in Las Vegas this week, and also with the quality of play that was on the court.  Interestingly, the style of play that everyone is trying to adopt is the pace and space employed by the Spurs and Warriors.  If you look, statistically, teams were launching threes left and right, and teams that were able to defend the three point line enjoyed the most success.  The types of players that routinely succeed in these environments are guard-oriented players.  But, the hybrids (like Draymond Green) are now all the rage.  Players, such as Thon Maker, were able to make an immediate impact because of their all around game.  The same goes for Denzel Valentine.  I think this trend will continue during the upcoming season, as the ability to switch on pick and rolls and defend the three are crucial to success and the ability to grab rebounds and turn that into a fast break are an invaluable asset. 

My Predictions:

  • I think the Chicago Bulls will win the Summer League title.
  • I think Clinton Portis will win the MVP. 
  • I think Devin Booker will have an all-star campaign this year and be voted Most Improved Player.
  • I think Ben Simmons will win the Rookie of the Year.
  • I think Kris Dunn will become the starting point guard for the Minnesota Timberwolves, and they should trade Rubio to accommodate that.
  • I think Brandon Ingram will struggle often during the season, but will turn out to be a good player in the long term.
  • I expect Buddy Hield to find himself as the season goes along. 
  • Jamal Murray will be looked at like Devin Booker a year from now.
  • Then Maker is going to turn a lot of heads.  I like what Milwaukee is building.
  • Golden State will win the championship against the Cavs in a 6 game series.
  • LeBron is going to win MVP this year. 




Sort:  

Love the NBA talk. I'm a Sixers fan so of course I'm high on Simmons but I like the rest of your predictions.

Love the NBA talk. I'm a Sixers fan so of course I'm high on Simmons but I like the rest of your predictions.

I think I may have jumped the gun on the Clinton Portis pick for Summer League MVP. I think they gave it to Tyus Jones. My pick was pegged to who I thought would win tonight. I'm based in NYC, so looking forward to seeing what the 6'ers can do. Nice front-court with Simmons, Noel/Embid, and Okafor.

Congratulations @bkb! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39