WEEK #2: TREES TUESDAY WINNERS! (Nature Photo Contest)

in #naturephotocontest6 years ago (edited)

WEEK #2: TREES TUESDAY WINNERS!!

Thank you for all the awesome submissions in the Trees Tuesday Nature Photo Contest! The entries were judged by Scott Jarvie (@jarvie). Jarvie has been taking pictures for 13 years and 10 years as a full time photographer. He has authored 3 books and once went on the road for 13 months straight.

"I'm very impressed that in a short period of time this contest has enough contributors to bring about 10 solid pictures of trees. There was a nice mix of scenic images with trees and then images of trees themselves. I picked a smattering of both themes. Like i said in a comment on the contest I selected some of my favorites from the comments and then viewed them large. Viewing them on a 4k 42" screen did impact my assessment in order to make sure the images held up under closer scrutiny. So good job to those who got some nice crisp images... and to be honest I can still appreciate a beautiful image even if it's not perfectly sharp. I look forward to seeing even more people playing and the content getting even better. ~ Scott

FIRST PLACE: @eaglest

Trees Tuesday Week 2 FIRST PLACE @eaglest.jpeg

“Giant Cedars boardwalk Trail in Canada. The trail is on a wooden boardwalk. Some of these trees are more than 500 years old. When you enter this dark breathtaking forest it is like entering another world...”

SECOND PLACE: @derekkind

Trees Tuesday Week 2 SECOND PLACE @derekkind.jpeg
“Keep your eyes open when walking through the forest - you never know how things will line up! This was on a trail somewhere in the Columbia Gorge, Oregon. :)”

THIRD PLACE: @weberh8

Trees Tuesday Week 2 THIRD PLACE @weberh8.jpeg
“Trees from above. I like how drone makes such a big lake so small!”

HONORABLE MENTIONS

@intrepidphotos

Trees Tuesday Week 2 HM @intrepidphotos.jpg
“We don’t know how to comprehend the patience required to pass 800 years. This Douglas fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii) was already 130 years old when the Black Death was ravaging Europe around 1350. The Black Death was estimated to have killed 30–60% of Europe's total population and untold numbers elsewhere in the world where population statistics are harder to come by. It is estimated that the global population did not recover to 14th century pre plague heights until well into the 17th century. Wonder what the world will be like in 2817? Cathedral Grove, MacMillan Provincial Park, Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada.

Image taken by and remains the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

@sjarvie5

Trees Tuesday Week 2 HM @sjarvie5.jpg
@jarvie I see how you love light in the trees, so I give you.... a little peeking through the branches on the right.”

@snaptravel

Trees Tuesday Week 2 HM @snaptravel.jpeg
“I took this photo whilst walking through the woodland late one afternoon. I liked the way the sun was backlighting this leaf. When I orientated the photo vertically I noticed the pattern in the leaf echoed that of the tree itself. I think this is called a fractal pattern. Where patterns in the micro match the macro.”

@fivealive55

Trees Tuesday Week 2 HM @fivealive55.jpeg
“This stretch of Highway 1 in Mendicino County California has a pretty impressive tree tunnel. When you time it with some sun rays from a light fog and a low sun the scene goes to the next level.”

@yblith

Trees Tuesday Week 2 HM @yblith.jpeg
“This frozen tree is my entry to the contest. When temperatures dropped pretty low in January 2017, the air was still humid enough to allow for some eye-catching frost outside.The tree together with its chapel is standing on a local vineyard - I liked the scene as there was a storm looming to the left, while the sun tried to pretend that everything's alright :)”

@monotarch

Trees Tuesday Week 2 HM @monotarch.jpeg
“This is the Duncan Tree (or, so we call it) in Yosemite National Park. I made this photo last March.
Settings: ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/125 s.”

@loneranger

Trees Tuesday Week 2 HM @loneranger.jpeg
“A foggy fall morning on Vancouver's seawalk.”

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE WINNERS!

If you enjoyed this gallery, please upvote and share! The bigger the payout, the greater the rewards! Thank you!

See also these stunning photo galleries featuring previous winners! Your upvote and resteem will bring a better reward for these great photographers and will be much appreciated.

Mountains Monday Winners Week 1
Trees Tuesday Winners Week 1
Water Wednesday Winners Week 1
Time Lapse Thursday Winners Week 1
Flora and Fauna Friday Winners Week 1
Simple Sunday Winners Week 1
Mountains Monday Winners Week 2

To learn more about this contest, see the detailed Introduction post.

To participate in a conversation about the contest check out this link.

To participate in the contest, check out the WATER WEDNESDAY and submit a photo before the deadline!

DAILY THEMES and judges for Week 2 (March 5 - 11)
Mountains Monday: @kieranstone
Trees Tuesday: @jarvie
Water Wednesday: @itchyfeetdonica
Time-lapse Thursday: @eaglest
Flora and Fauna Friday: @mariya-lorenz
Simple Sunday: @raoul.poenar


TREES TUESDAY WEEK #2 MEMOAccountPrizes and Payments
First Place@eaglest20%
Second Place@derekkind12%
Third Place@weberh87%
Honorable Mention@intrepidphotos3%
Honorable Mention@sjarvie53%
Honorable Mention@snaptravel3%
Honorable Mention@fivealive553%
Honorable Mention@yblith3%
Honorable Mention@monotarch3%
Honorable Mention@loneranger3%
Judge@jarvie20%

Sort:  

Amazing photos! Congratulations to the winners and thank you for sharing.

Congratulations winners!!
@fivealive55 I love your photo!!

@fivealive55's photo was mesmerizing! Definitely a favorite among all these beautiful shots!

All that light was just stunning!!

Great tree pictures, everyone!!

Well, thank you @jarvie!! Glad my picture held up on the big screen, lol - should have saved it as a larger file. :D

And as always, thank you @shadalene! :D

My pleasure! :)

Awesome shots, congratulations to all winners! :)

wow ! Thank you so much :)

Congratulations to all the winners!

Great set of shots again !

Hi @shadalene ; you don't have to copy my copyright footer from my post if it is selected. I just like to have it there in my comment when I post a new photo. ;-)

Sure, will do! I wish everyone put a copyright on their photos, but I guess it's their choice.. :)

I dot mind either way; I just feel a bit strange being the only one in the winners list with a link to my site !

Understandable! :)

Thank You everybody and especially to @shadalene for hosting this contest and to @jarvie for judging. There are some really great pictures here... I think it was not easy for @jarvie to decide...

wait so i shouldn't mention that I think it was rather easy for me ;)

I love those color tones in your shot that's what a forrest feels like to me and I always try to get pictures like that so I had a lot of appeal to your shot.

As we know it's hard to argue against most of the amazing shots by @derekkind

I went with something completely unique and different for 3rd place with @weberh8

A couple of the honorable mentions didn't hold up super well under close inspection but they showed creativity and use of some good colors and framing or had unique scenes.

Hey so these winners get the cut of this post or the original post? Or both?

The rewards come out of this post (the winners announcement post). :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59295.75
ETH 2607.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41