Queen Butterflies and More

in #nature6 years ago


This past Tuesday when I was volunteering at the butterfly house there were at least 6 queen butterflies enjoying gliding around and sipping the flowers.

QueenLantana.jpg


Queen Butterfly on Lantana


queen2napa.jpg


Queen butterflies on David's Mistflower


QueenNeo.jpg


Above 2 photos have fliters applied to them.


SwallowtailBlackYellow1.jpg


Giant Swallowtail


twobutterflies.jpg


Crimson Patch butterfly on the left and Queen butterfly on the right.


Have a Blessed Day!


My last few posts are:
Mist at The Arboretum
Greeting From Texas on TreeTuesday
Walk to The Butterfly Garden and House - Part 1
Pipevine Swallowtail Butterfly Emerging From It's Chrysalis
A Pipevine Swallowtail Emerges


If you believe in Steemit and have been on here for more than a year, and you have a job, then you should buy at least $10 worth of Steem!


August 4, 2018
All original photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus

Sort:  

I have been wondering about Queen butterflies versus Monarchs. Thanks for that explanation @violetmed I'm jealous that all your photos of flowers have butterflies on them haha

Only because I was in the butterfly house! In my backyard, I chase butterflies around and most of the time they don't stay still long enough to focus and get a good capture!

howdy this beautiful Saturday @violetmed! that sound like a rough gig you got there at the Butterfly house surrounded with all that beauty! the photos are stunning and I'm always amazed at the awesome designs, I really like the Giant Swallowtail.

Well the butterfly house is nice when the temp is below 90 and the humidity not too high, so this past Tuesday was great! I have volunteered there when it is 95 and very humid and it's great for the butterflies and flowers, but not the humans! Haha, but I do enjoy educating the adults and children walking through the house.

oh this is so interesting @violetmed..so you have a steady stream of visitors through the gardens? and that butterfly house has to feel like a sweat hut or something when it's 95 and humid out!
but God bless you for volunteering up there.

Thankfully, there is a shady end to the butterfly house and I go cool off there and drink some water! Luckily it's a volunteer position, so if I get to hot I can leave anytime I want! :)

howdy this fine Sunday evening @violetmed! oh that sounds like a nice settup but I bet you're used to the heat and have never left early!

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Wonderful photographs @violetmed. Are queen butterflies a type of butterfly or are they similar to a queen bee?

No, I'm not sure how it got it's name. The Queen butterfly is similar looking to a Monarch butterfly, but the Queen has smaller wings and a different pattern when they open their wings. Nevertheless, people do have a hard time telling the two butterflies apart. I used to until I started studying and learning to identify butterflies!

Hello dear @violetmed wonderful photography dear your all photos are out standing I love them 😍 I have followed you and thank you so much for upvote me 😊 stay connected dear

@violetmed amazing photo with spectacular colors of our concentidas, our beautiful butterflies, posing for us on the flowers in a spectacular way, I fall in love with such clear and beautiful photos, great work friend, thanks, magnificent our beautiful butterflies....

I particularly like the first photo of the butterflies on top of the small flowers of that Lantana @violetmed. I've been reading about queen butterflies thanks to your post :D

Yes, thank you, I love the way the first photo turned out!

Great photos. Haven't even imagined that the Iphone 8 plus can take such great pictures. I use very often snapseed to edit some of my photos. It's a great app and I recommend it all the time. Plus it's very easy to use. Have a great weekend!

Thank you and I'll look into snapseed!

Stunning photos @violetmed What a fabulous volunteer job you have. I think I'd really enjoy working closely with butterflies.

Love that first shot. So clear in focus and vivid colors. If I were a butterfly, Id "do" those flowers... Oops! Did I say that???

Very lovely captured.. all the above shots are so perfect....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66