Walk to The Butterfly Garden and House - Part 1

in #nature6 years ago


Just a few photos to show you just a little of the garden outside of the butterfly house where I volunteer a few hours a month.
It is less than a 5 minute walk from the parking lot, into the building and out to the butterfly house and garden on the wildlife sanctuary grounds in McKinney, Texas.
Next Wednesday, I'll share more!

BHouseoutside1.jpg


BHouseOutside2 (2).jpg


BHouseOutside2 (3).jpg


BHouseOutside3.jpg


BHouseOutside5.jpg


There are many purple passion flowers on the grounds around the butterfly house.
I featured these on a post on June 29, 2018, but today I also have a couple of photos of the beautiful seed pods from the purple passion flowers!


PassionFlower1.jpg


PassionSeedPod2.jpg


Purple Passion Flower Pods


PassionSeedPod1.jpg


My Thursday post is quite exciting for me "the butterfly lover"!
Join me for my next post to see a butterfly emerge from its chrysalis!


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


August 1, 2018
All original photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus

Sort:  

howdy @violetmed! that passion flower is stunning, oh my gosh!
I didn't know this place existed in McKinney, what a wonderful thing for you to volunteer for also. I read an article about Laura Bush working to get flowers planted all over Texas which bees and butterflies will polinate so this post reminds me of that.

Yes, she is very active trying to do that! Also outside of the President George Bush's library on the grounds of SMU in Dallas, there is a whole pollinator nature area planted with all kinds of native texas flowers, etc.

howdy back @violetmed..so good to hear from you again. That is great news to hear and I bet you know where all the best flowers are in the Dallas area!

Those passion flower pods are interesting @violetmed. The passion flowers I had changed into fruits rather than seed pods but the flowers looked very similar. 😊

Yes I’m beginning to figure out there must be several different kinds of passion flowers versus passionflower vine. I’m going to be talking to an expert about it in the next few days. She’s a young woman that works at the butterfly garden property

@violetmed Amiga what a beautiful and interesting site I have, it is a pleasure to do volunteer hours there surrounded by butterflies and passion flowers, what a beautiful environment, I would love to be there, thank you for your beautiful publication
IMG_20180727_182811.jpg

What a fantastic walk you had. I love the idea of a butterfly garden to help the pollinators

Thanks for sharing your walk with us. I really love the purple passion flower. That flower is so unique and looks so different that what we expect flowers to look like, it doesn't look real. It looks like a fantasy or magical version of our everyday flowers.

I can imagine the walks in those gardens, while you explain some types of butterflies and flowers, and I get excited. It must be super interesting and pedagogical, @violetmed. You have a vocation for caring for plants and learning from the growth of butterflies. I expect your publication tomorrow. I congratulate you and thank you.

Great place to visit.

The passion flowers are very beautiful and different, @violetmed. I never would have guessed there was a house for butterflies. Thanks to you, I know. I like that you bring this kind of stuff that we don't see in other posts. Always interesting and different. Thank you

Can't wait for that next post, Violet. Some lovely captures here:):):)

Thank you so much for your volunteer work and sharing it with us @violetmed. This is a wonderful effort at preservation and proliferation of species. Your work on Steemit can be compared to a pollinator of ideas.


image.png

But I just can't stop wondering who is Wilson Walthall?

Haha, probably the man who gave the money to start the butterfly garden/house.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79