Forest Therapy for Stress, Anxiety and Depression

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

It sounds amazing but it seems to really work, at least on my account! I first read about this a few years ago in the news - apparently in Japan some doctors order forest therapy for their depressed patients.

Dr Fumio Hirano-Takemura is one of the professionals who believe in this. He’s traveled to Finland on many occasion, as we have lots of forests and countryside. 71.6 per cent of Finland’s surface area is covered with forest (compared to Japan’s 68.1%). There’s also another good reason for projects such as this one over here as well: according to National Health and Welfare Institute about 20% of Finns will suffer depression at some point in their lifetime. People with depression usually have about 2-3 fold risk of coronary heart disease, as well as other conditions that may come if the person starts to become socially excluded because of their condition.

According to studies, walking or hiking in the woods is extremely efficient to ailments such as stress, blood pressure, depression, insomnia and neck and shoulder conditions. Already 20 minutes will help lift moods, after two hours the body’s defence mechanisms will start to build. According to a Japanese research, spending time in the nature will help body produce white blood cells, which means that your body will fight stronger against bacteria and infections (I remember reading something similar about gardening as well). In Japanese medicine this ‘forest bathing’ is called shirin yoku.

You need to experience the surroundings comprehensively: all the sights, smells, sounds, how things feel to the touch, underneath your feet etc. work in the healing process. It’s about being aware and enjoying the nature’s ambience (without your mobile or other intrusive sounds); finding a nice spot and having a breather or laying down and pondering about “why I like this certain place”.

Photographing in the nature is also about learning to read what goes on around you. When you actually stop for a while, look around and listen - and the woods will come alive! I’d say it’s very same as shooting street style pictures or urban landscape in a city.

Dear readers, I'd like to hear your take on the matter - how do you feel about the idea of hiking in the nature; if you do this, what kind of an impact does it have on you?

The idea for this post came from @old-guy-photos #treetuesday contest as well as @mundaneart competition for moss etc. I found this picture on my hard drive and remembered the feeling from that trip to the forest and decided to write a little longer story.

Thanks for visiting, if you like this post or picture, have a look at these as well!

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing! I also find the forest very realxing and as a place to gather your thoughts, clear your mind and get inspired.
I actually am having a giveaway now under the question of what do you find is the best way to fight depression, feel free to come and share your thoughts there! <3

Wow, thanks! I will attend when I get home - when is the deadline?

thanks for writing this post.
as a matter of fact, a walk in the park can also have a certain therapeutic effect on people. like you said: comprehensive experience is the best.
A forest would be better, but maybe far away.

I’d say in the first place it’s about achieving those little things like routines, chores etc. Any (safe) exercise is good, the great outdoors has only more perks to it, perhaps.

Thanks for visiting, @koskl!
Have a good one

Nice post, @vimma. I couldn't agree more. I absolutely love forests, and find myself relaxing as I walk through them. The smell, the cool atmosphere and the dampened sound all add to the effect of serenity and slight other-worldliness.

I have issues with anxiety, and being in a forest, combined with the exercise, does wonders for my mind.

Thanks for calling! You’re absolutely right.

Now that you mention it a friend on my class told me he quit anti anxiety meds when he moved from a city to out in the sticks (where our school was) and started shooting landscapes!

That's great to hear. I was on anti-depressants and anti-anxiety medication for years. I wasn't very bad but I did find it hard to cope sometimes. The best decision I ever made was to stop drinking alcohol. After that I took up running , so now I don't need meds.

And what started it all off? Buying a camera and getting into landscape photography! I'm now self-employed and happier than I've ever been.

Now that is a story of coping and success, congrats! You employ yourself with photography, full time?

And you’re very right about quiting alcohol. It causes a lot of mental harm and you ger very little for the money you spend. Especially people on meds or prone towards mental difficulties should definitely think twice about getting sauced up

Thank you! Yes, I'm full time, but it's taking a while to get it up off the ground. I had only one client when I started last year, but now I've 6 consistent clients (interiors and fashion). It's a real grind, but I'm getting there. The one thing this has taught me is persistence pays!

Persistence is the answer to so many problems, hehe. Made me very happy to learn this!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

!originalworks

Followed you here from the qurator post and I'm super happy to see this. If everyone agreed with forest therapy there'd be so much less wrongdoing.. This is awesome. @lonestarpoet shirin yoku

You could be right. For me it's also about tiring myself physically by getting a sweat on and really working it. Everything that comes on top of that is a nice extra.

At times, life really is awesome!

have a good one.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 28 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

What a great photo! I truly believe in forest therapy and am so glad I live in the woods and am surround by big old oak trees!

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44