Did you know that this animal creates clones ?

in #nature6 years ago


MATA_CABALLO_5

stick insect

I recently went to the field as my passion for photographs, flowers and animals, I found an stick insect, I selected the best photographs then I look for more information little about this animal to know it better, tthese are some of the things that caught my attention.


They are nocturnal animals, in an adult statethey walk approximately two meters, they are among the champions of camouflage, but what most attracts my attention was this article that I will share below.


MATA_CABALLO_6

Canadian scientists from Simon Fraser University in Canada have been investigating the DNA of Tinema's stick insects, which live near the western coast of the United States.
All the evidence points to the fact that Tinema's stick insect have survived for more than a million years.
What they do is produce genetic clones of themselves.But the question they wanted to answer is this. In order to date the origin of this sexual habit, Dr. Tanja Schwander and her team studied the DNA of several species of Tinema stick insects and discovered that the asexual reproduction of these animals predates the 500,000 years in some species, and in others. of a million years.
The team discovered that five of the asexual insects were millennia old, tracing their origin to half a million years, two of them were even older. You can read the full article on this link.
Without knowing it in my camera posed the world champion of sexual abstention, what genius I hope you enjoy the photos, let me your comments.
MATA_CABALLO_8

The photos are of my authorship not authorized to any person to spread them or to commercialize them without previous warning.

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.asoilusion.com/thelastpoet/blog/2018/09/04/did-you-know-that-this-animal-creates-clones/
Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-animal" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Interesante la información amigo!

Welcome to my blog. thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44