An interesting encounter of a special kind

in #nature7 years ago

Hey guys,

last Friday I had a very interesting meeting and also the chance to make a new friend :D

I was busy catching bugs out of a small pond when I was noticing a big bird landing right behind me.
This cawing lead me to turn around and would you believe it, there was a magpie :D

At the beginning I didn’t pay much attention to it and just kept fishing so to speak. But that might have led to the bird’s raising curiosity. After just a few seconds it flew right next to me on the climbing trellis, not more than about 40 cm/15 inches away from me, this is also the place and time the pictures were taken. At first it was sitting one level above me and it was trying to get my attention by twitching at a branch right above its head, after a second cawing he succeeded and got my attention, I greeted it and promptly received and answer :)

I’ve kept fishing for another 2-3 minutes while talking to the magpie, sadly I didn’t quite understand it, but it did answer and was also very curious xD After I was done I assumed that it would fly away, once I take my leave and turn to it directly, also the reason why I didn’t bother making cautious movements or something like that.
But gladly the bird kept sitting and after some close mutual inspection I was sure that it wasn’t afraid. So I thought I should get it something nice to eat and also my mobile, the reason why and how the pictures were taken, otherwise nobody would have believed me anyway ^^

At first I remembered those fresh picked raspberries, so I brought him some and I stretched my hand out and at first it got a bit panicked… until it realised that there is something on my hand. So panic became calmness and curiosity and it started snacking on those raspberries, and as you can see, piece by piece :D

We kept looking at each other for some time and he took his leave by cawing and flying to the neighbour’s roof. Because of my curious nature I went on the balcony and took a look at the roof. There it sat with another magpie and they were busy ‘talking’ with each other. After one of them made an indescribable and weird movement (I have absolutely no idea how to describe it!) and some cawing they went their way.

But they weren’t just gone, actually they were sitting on a cherry tree nearby and they were watching me. Due to the fact that I had some pigeon feed from Madame Alfredo left I thought I could give it a try, but I couldn’t get them to another face to face, but they did remember where I left the feed since it was gone last morning :D

Well, here are some pictures :D

#1 Right after panic became calmness and curiosity :)

#2

#3

#4


I only have those 4, I was just to fascinated by the situation and I didn’t want to stare at a screen but I think they turned out ok :D

It really was a beautiful moment :)
I do hope that this short story brought you joy and I’d love to know if you had similar encounters :)?


Some information about the magpie: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magpie


Thanks for your interest.

@schlees

Sort:  

Ich kenne Elstern als intelligent aber auch sehr scheu, deshalb überrascht mich diese schöne Geschichte.
Ich könnte mir sogar vorstellen, dass dieser Vogel von Menschen aufgezogen worden ist (wir haben früher selbst mal eine mit den Elstern verwandte Dohle großgezogen) und deshalb weniger Angst hat als 'normale' Elstern.

Mich hat es ebenfalls überrascht in dem Moment :)
Darüber hatte ich es mit @steamboatwilly schon auf dem deutschen Post, aber echt schwer zu sagen, da er eben nicht alleine on Tour war :D
Das war sicherlich eine sehr interessante Zeit mit der Dohle xD?

Love to read it and very nice clicks. . .! :)

Thank you :)

Schöner Post. Ist immer was Besonderes, ein wildes Tier so dicht bei sich zu haben. Ich habe regelmäßig Besuch von einem Eichelhäher auf meinem Balkon. Das ist ein Riesenvogel! Und wunderschöne bunte Federn. Er trinkt ab und an aus einem Eimer, den ich dort stehen habe, um den Regen zu sammeln. Wenn es heiß war und einige Tage nicht regnete, dann kam er zum Trinken. Einmal musste er sich so tief in den Eimer bücken, dass er fast ganz darin verschwand. Nur noch die Schwanzfedern zu sehen. Aber er fliegt sofort weg, wenn ich mich bewege... Also absolut still sitzen und keinen Mucks :)

Dankeschön :)
Das seh ich genau so :) Joooa, klein sind die definitiv nicht und ja, die hat er :)
Kannst ihm und sicherlich auch anderen ja eine kleine Station für den Winter einrichten, über ein paar Nüsse, Korn oder auch nen Apfel freuen die sich sicher, vielleicht darfst du dann auch mal nen Mucks von dir geben :D

HeHe. Neulich legte ich einen Apfel hin und am nächsten Tag war der ordentlich zerfleddert. Ab und an mache ich das und leg was zum Knabbern raus. Aber nicht regelmäßig. Jetzt hast du mich dran erinnert.
Seien wir freundlich zu Tieren:)

Dann hat da wohl jemand hunger gehabt :D Find ich gut, insbesondere anhand der Tatsache, dass wir ihr größtes Problem sind...

Immer doch :)
Hab jeden morgen ne kleine Hand Haselnüsse in der Tasche, bisher hat sich immer ein hungriges Mäulchen gefunden :)

Loading...

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @schlees
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @schlees to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 37.50 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @schlees. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This post has received a 0.26 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @schlees.

This post has received a 36.36 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @schlees

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This post has received a 11.11 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @schlees.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65