Raising Tadpoles (Day 141) - Marcinko Grows

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 141

It's an interesting opportunity that I'm now presented with thanks to Marcinko. I hadn't originally wanted to raise any more tadpoles, since raising over 80 over the last few months is more than enough for me for the time being, it was a fun and novel experience, however, I'd like to free up for the numerous other projects that have been put on the back burner as a result. In the meantime, raising Marcinko individually will allow me a newer perspective. Instead of caring for tadpoles on the scale of a small breeder, I'll be approaching it from the more likely angle of a new frog owner seeking to care for a single tadpole (commonly received from services such as Grow-a-Frog) they just acquired.

GOPR2664  Copy.JPG

Overall, I'd strongly recommend against breeding any animals in general unless you have someone who's guaranteed to take the animals once they're born. I'd especially recommend against doing so if your goal is money, an amateur is likely to spend more money than they take in and even if you do break even, you're likely to find that you've made less than minimum wage once you take into account the number of hours you put in once you think about it.

180911_0009  Copy Day137.jpg

The general hardness of the 10 gallon tank was raised from 179 ppm to 197 ppm by adding 1.5ml of Replenish. I added a further 1.5ml and will check the general hardness again tomorrow morning. Marcinko is progressing quite nicely and is growing quickly, I'd estimate about 3mm of growth in length since the last time I measured the little tadpole (from 5mm to 8mm). If Marcinko grows fast enough, I may even be able to combine every remain tadpole into the 10 gallon tank instead of having to keep Marcinko separate in the carrier tank I bought.

Current Totals:

10 - 10 gallon (Tadpole Tank)
32 - 20 gallon (Frog Tank) [7 froglet, 25 juvenile]

Next Day

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @ribbitingscience! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71