Raising Tadpoles (Day 128) - Ah, Bucket!

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 128

Since the tadpole water has remained just beneath 0.25 ppm ammonia during every test since the majority of the tadpoles were removed and the remaining individuals were moved into the 10 gallon, I chose to skip today's tadpole water change. I'll be testing the water to see if the water can sustain two day periods between water changes. If it can't, I'll likely also test out if lowering the daily water change to 30% is a viable strategy as well. No need to perform excessive water changes due to the unnecessary stress they can place on the tadpoles as well as the waste of water that results. Being able to skip water changes wont result in too much time being saved now that I've begun staggering the water changes to coincide with the juvenile frog and froglet feedings, though it would help to give my back a rest from constantly moving 5 gallons of water about at a time.

GOPR2494 - Copy.JPG

I've been considering purchasing a new 5 gallon bucket in the meantime since the 5 gallon holding tank is still broken and I have no spare containers of any viable size for the frogs. Currently, when I feed the young frogs and perform a water change, I have to fill up one of the 5 gallon buckets I bought with decor to keep it out of the way of any cleaning that has to be done, leaving me with only one bucket to transport the water. I'll try using the old 5 gallon holding tank but thanks to the crack in it, I'm not sure how much use I'm going to be able to get out of it. If anyone knows of a good plastic cement, I'm all ears. I also noticed the other day that after I went though the effort of traveling to buy bucket at Home Depot for $5 a few weeks ago, the supermarket right next to it had one for $4 with the ($5 at Home Depot) lid included.

Current Totals:

15 - 10 gallon (Tadpole Tank) [3 froglet, 12 tadpole]
28 - 20 gallon (Frog Tank) [6 froglet, 22 juvenile]

Next Day

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @ribbitingscience! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60