Raising Tadpoles (Day 129) - Intense Recycling

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 129

I'll try moving both of the froglets out of the tadpole tank over to the frog tank after I test the test the respective PH of both the 10 gallon and 20 gallon tanks tomorrow. I've waited until both of the froglets have almost entirely absorbed their tails. Both of the froglets look to be healthy and there should be no issues this time, though to be fair, as far as I can tell, there was no obvious reason for the mass die-off we witnessed a few days ago either. In the meantime, there are 3 soon-to-be froglets that I'll also try to wait to move until they absorb their tails as well. I also moved the largest froglet out of the froglet section of the 20 gallon aquarium and into the juvenile frog section instead. I'll likely move the next biggest froglet over as well in the next two to three days if it continues to grow at roughly the same rate.

GOPR2513 - Copy.JPG

Tiny laid more eggs over night, fortunately, it's just a relatively small number of new eggs. It may be the result of the temperature drop we had occur over the last two days. It is quite interesting to watch Tiny scoop the eggs off the sides of the decor in order to eat them, she's a true master of recycling apparently, regardless, I'm just glad to not have to clean them up myself.

There's something about this house that makes it a mold magnet apparently, I checked and found that there were now small spots of black mold in the tadpole suspension container accumulating around the inside of the top on one side. I'm going to have to empty out one of the other containers, switch the suspension into it, and throw out the current moldy container.

Current Totals:

15 - 10 gallon (Tadpole Tank) [3 froglet, 12 tadpole]
28 - 20 gallon (Frog Tank) [5 froglet, 23 juvenile]

Next Day

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62