The Pink Leaf Moth

in #nature7 years ago

This beautifully coloured moth is known as the Pink Leaf Moth, Wingia lambertella. It turned up last night at my moth light trap. It's only the second time I've seen this species in the last eleven years. The moth is a member of the Oecophoridae family. The larvae feed on Eucalyptus leaves. They also make shelters of several eaves stuck together with silk.

I took these photos with a Canon 7D and Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro lens.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Oecophoridae Wingia lambertella 1.jpg

Oecophoridae Wingia lambertella 2.jpg

Oecophoridae Wingia lambertella 3.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Cabbage White Butterfy

The Mountain Dragon

Longicorn Beetle

A Scarab Beetle Visits My Moth Trap
Sort:  

This picture look like very beautiful.
Thanks for Sharing This picture.

Yea ok, it is very pretty :p
I could keep it in a jar.

That's a really beautiful creature!

Oh wow. I've never seen this one before. Pretty!

Oh wow. I've never seen this one before. Pretty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25