Longicorn Beetle (Four Macro Photos)

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Longicorn Beetles (also known as Longhorn beetles) are often attracted to light at night so I often see them when I'm out photographing moths. This one came for a visit on Monday night. It is Phlyctaenodes pustulosus. Most species in this family (Cerambycidae) have very long antennae which is where they get their name from. Their larvae are wood borers. This particular species is known to feed on Eucalyptus trees and Banksias.

These photos were taken in my backyard with a Canon 7D and Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro lens.

Submitted for @juliank macro photography contest
( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Cerambycidae Phlyctaenodes pustulosus n1.jpg

Cerambycidae Phlyctaenodes pustulosus n2.jpg

Cerambycidae Phlyctaenodes pustulosus n3.jpg

Cerambycidae Phlyctaenodes pustulosus n4.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


The Laughing Kookaburra

Terrestrial Flatworms (Very Strange Creatures)

The Helena Gum Moth

White-bellied Sea-eagle
Sort:  

Wonderful Macro shots, I've always wanted to try Macro photography myself.

Thanks. Macro is fun but addictive :-)

wow absolutely great shots my friend ;)

Thanks very much.

I love Lightening Bugs. I did a post last year about a huge one that I found on my verandah. It lived up to its name with dry season breaking storms that night.

Interesting.
When you say Lightning bugs are you referring to fireflies (Lampyridae)?

No we call longicorn beetles lightening bug because you see them before spring storms.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41