The Badge Huntsman Spider (Underside)

in #nature7 years ago

A few months ago I posted images of a Badge Huntsman spider (Neosparassus diana). I resorted to using a drawing to explain how the spider gets it's name from the badge like pattern on it's lower abdomen. Recently we found another of these spiders in the garage. I put it in a jar and released it out in the garden. However, I first took the opportunity to get a shot of the badge mark.

Click on images to see a larger version
( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Neosparassus-diana Badge Huntsm BY Tas.jpg
Ventral surface of Neosparassus diana showing the distinctive badge like markings.

I did not get a new image of the top of the spider as it ran off under my hedge as soon as I tipped the jar. Here's the previous shot to remind you what it looks like.

Arachnida Araneae Sparassidae Neosparassus-diana BY.jpg
The Badge Huntsman, Neosparassus diana

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Cactus Blooms and Time Lapse

Chestnut Teals and Duckling

A Moth that Likes to Stand Upright

The Three Species of Currawong

Sort:  

I remember that orange monster. Cool markings. Do they look a bit different on every spider? Like fingerprints?

The ones I've seen have all been pretty similar although I imagine there must be some variations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58