A Moth that Likes to Stand Upright

in #nature7 years ago

Here is an interesting little Pyralid moth known as Gauna aegusalis. It stands almost upright when at rest, usually with it's abdomen raised up into the air. I've always assumed it is emitting pheremones when it does this. There are also other related species with a similar stance such as Endotricha ignealis

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Gauna aegusalis MV BY Tas 2.jpg

Gauna aegusalis MV BY Tas 3.jpg

Gauna aegusalis MV BY Tas 1.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Parasites of Caterpillars

The Royal Spoonbill

The Welcome Swallow Nesting and Feeding Young

Short-beaked Echidna
Sort:  

I really love moths! They look like mystic butterflies and sometimes seem so out of this world! Beautiful photos! It looks so funny and somehow cute how this little creature stands upright! Wonderful post for a moth lover like me :D

Thanks. Nice to know there are others who appreciate the beauty of moths :-)

Whoa! (๑˃‿˂) Haha, that's some crazy gymnastics it's doing! I think I'll watch moths more closely now. I've found some really interesting patterned species in my backyard, but never observed their behaviors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42