Life in a Brain Fungus (Six Photos) (Tremella fuciformis)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

A while back, I took a photo of a jelly fungus on a rotting log up in my backyard. It was the White Brain Fungus, Tremella fuciformis. It did not look like a very good specimen as it seemed to be covered in dirt and detritus. However, being the first time I'd seen this species, I took the shot anyway. When I loaded it on the computer I noticed that, what I thought were specks of dirt, were actually little mites which were apparently feeding on the fungus. I tried for some close up shots but the detail is lacking. These were really pushing the limits of my lens as they are only about 1mm. However you can see that they have a shield like process at what, for simplicity, we’ll call the shoulder. From what little I can find on the subject, these seem to be Oribatid mites, probably belonging to the family Galumnidae. These mites help to break down organic matter.

It also noticed that there were other tiny creatures crawling around. These are tiny Poduromorph springtails. Having placed some in a container I witnessed one jump at least 5 cm. Quite a feat for an animal a mere 1.8 mm in length - Perhaps it had a good tail wind :-)

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Here's a shot of the White Brain Fungus – Tremella fuciformis. If you click on this image you can see a larger version.

Tremella_fuciformis-with_mites_and_Springtails-BY-small.jpg

Here's a closer view of the tiny sprintail. It's about 1.5 mm long.

Springtail-was_on_fungus.jpg

...and the next three shots are of one of the little Galumnid Mites which were just over 1 mm long.

Galumnidae_mite_on_fungus-1.jpg

Galumnidae_mite_on_fungus-3-by.jpg

In the next photo, with good eyes and a good imagination, you can just make out the shield like process at the right shoulder.

Galumnidae_mite_on_fungus-2-by.jpg

The last shot is pretty poor quality but it gives some scale. The marking on the rule are spaced at 1mm.
scale.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Animal Portraits - Meercat

SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Animal Portraits - Meercat

Life in the Leaf Litter (includes 10 photographs)

The Old Ross Bridge, Tasmania (Eight Photos)

Sort:  

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Really nice article!
I find all kinds of critters when picking mushrooms. Soon I'll be an expert entomologist.
Upvoted and resteemed to spread the mushroom love!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I won't be poking around in these fungi anytime soon, so thanks for doing it for me!

It's not the prettiest of things is it :-)

Interesting little bugs. They do perform a large task in breaking down organic matter though.

They all play their part.

Nice post, thank you. Upwoted followed.

Follow me and you will get valuable contents from me.
My introducing: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@chebee/hello-steemit-community-i-love-you

@chebee

Nature can be pretty creepy!

Thanks for viewing.

This post received a 2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @mostly.nature! For more information, click here!

They are so sound and shiny! And springtails... I think some of my orchid pots have them. But I think I read they are harmless so I let them be.

Cool, jelly mushrooms too :D

It's amazing what you can see when you get close enough. With my eyes I often don't notice things until I view them on the computer monitor.

Oh yea.. that often happens to me too :) Especially some tiny or well camouflaged bugs :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44