Endemic Birds of Tasmania (10 Photos)

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Of the hundreds of bird species that can be seen in Tasmania, just 12 are endemic to the island. Ten of these are shown below. Many birders come down to Tasmania for a whirlwind tour and tick off all twelve endemics in a day or two. Personally, after being here for 11 years, I have only seen 11 of the endemics and have only photographed 10. I’m yet to see the Forty-spotted pardalote which only occurs in some very small areas of the south-east and I’m yet to photograph the Strong-billed honeyeater. I’m in no rush. While I enjoy seeing new birds, my main enjoyment comes from observing even the common birds.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

The first three are all of the Honeyeater family. They are primarily nectar feeders but also feed on insects.

Honeyeater_Black-headed-BY.jpg
Black-headed honeyeater ( Melithreptus affinus) in the backyard

Honeyeater_Yellow-throated-BY.jpg
Yellow-throated honeyeater ( Lichenostomus flavicollis) in the backyard

Yellow_Wattlebird-Romaine_Park.jpg
Yellow wattlebird ( Anthochaera paradoxa) at Romaine Reserve

The native hen is the only flightless bird in Tasmania (The Tasmanian Emu being extinct)

Native-hen_Tasmanian-Fern_Glade_Pumphouse.jpg
Tasmanian native hen (Gallinula mortierii) at the Emu River

The Green Rosella is actually more green when young. Older birds turn more yellow. They feed on seeds and fruit.

Rosella_Green-BY.jpg
Green rosella ( Platycercus caledonicus) in the backyard

The Dusky Robin is another insectivorous birds. They are often seen perched on a tree stump or low branch from where they watch for prey and then fly down to catch it.

Robin_Dusky-BY.jpg
Dusky robin ( Melanodryas vittata ) in the backyard

We have three thornbills in Tasmania. The endemic Tasmanian thornbill is is usually seen in the wet eucalypt forests or temperate rainforest..

Tasmanian_Thornbill-Narawntapu.jpg
Tasmanian thornbill ( Acanthiza ewingii ) at Narawntapu N.P

The scrubtit is usually found in temperate rainforest and is sometimes hard to spot among the dark shadows of giant tree ferns.

Scrubtit-3-Fern_Glade.jpg
Scrubtit ( Acanthornis magnus ) at Fern Glade, Burnie

The Tasmanian Scrubwren is quite a shy bird. Often you will only see a glimpse of it as it flies low to the ground across a clearing. They like to keep within the dense scrub.

Scrubwren_Tasmanian-BY.jpg
Tasmanian Scrubwren ( Sericornis humilus) in the backyard

The carnivorous Black currawong is quite an opportunistic feeder. It will eat anything from baby birds to carrion as well as insects and berries/

Currawong-Cradle-Mountain.jpg
Black currawong ( Strepera fuliginosa) at Cradle Mountain

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Life in a Brain Fungus

How to Catch a Moth ...A Basic Introduction to Mothing

SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Animal Portraits - Meercat

SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - Animal Portraits - Meercat

Sort:  

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Your amazing.. Regard for team Singapura.

Thanks. Glad you liked the post.

Beautiful birds. So beautifully photographed with the background, an integral aspect of each image. Resteemed @mostly.nature. 🦋

Thanks you very much.

Truly a pleasure. 🦋

Utterly beautiful bird photography! My favorite is the Black currawong. 👍🏻

Thanks. The currawongs have beautiful eyes.

Excellent shots! I can never be quiet or patient enough for birds. Great job!

Thanks. I have the patience but I also have plenty of really bad shots :-)

Thanks for viewing. Yes they certainly beautiful birds.

I suggest that you take one of each with a paper that says Steemit + date + your account name on it - just to build your credibility :)
I'm amazed at how close you could get to these beautiful creatures!
which part of the world are you in to get access to such rich nature beauties?

Ha ha :-) That would be impossible. These are not city pigeons that walk up to you. They are shy birds that are between 20 and 50 feet away and often high in a tree. It can be very difficult to even get that close. Sometime it takes repeated efforts for days, weeks, or longer to get a decent photo. There are birds which I have been trying to photograph for many years and still have not succeeded. (For example the Strong-billed honeyeater that I mentioned in this post). Some of these shots were taken in my backyard but I don't have a ordinary suburban backyard. My property merges into the bushland/forest. The birds are not accustomed to people. There are two birds missing in this post to complete the set of Tasmanian endemic birds. The Strong-billed Honeyeater and the Forty Spotted Pardalote. There are plenty of images of these on the Internet, with creative commons licenses, that I could have used. I did not do so as this blog is primarily about my own photography, video, and my enthusiasm for natural history. If anyone wants to doubt my credibility then let them. Anyone who regularly reads my blog would soon discern that my posts are authentic and original. You also asked what part of the world I am in. I am in Tasmania, hence the title the post, "Endemic Birds of Tasmania".

There are gorgeous shots @mostly.nature.

Thanks very much. Glad you enjoyed them.

Woww great shots!

Wow what a great post. I have seen the forty spotted pardalote in my days at university. I think it was on Maria Island if I remember correctly.

Thank you! You're lucky getting to see one. I rarely get down to that end of the state but maybe one day :-)

Amazing collection, Alan! They are all so pretty... I have no luck with birds, mostly silhouettes in the sky - I'm lucky if they're in a 'bird' shape! 😅

Thanks. I have plenty of shots of bird tails as they fly away from me ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65