A Scarab Beetle

in #nature7 years ago

I put my moth light out last night but only for a couple of hours. It did bring in a few moths which I have photographed before. However, I was more interested in this small beetle. It's a new species for my backyard. It's one of the Scarab beetles (family Scarabaeidae). At this point that's as far as I can go with identification. It was a rather dark beetle but the colour shows up more under the flash light.

Click on images to see a larger version
( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

Scarabaeidae MV BT Tas 2017-12-17 n1.jpg

Scarabaeidae MV BT Tas 2017-12-17 n3.jpg

Scarabaeidae MV BT Tas 2017-12-17 n2.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Cactus Blooms and Time Lapse

Chestnut Teals and Duckling

A Moth that Likes to Stand Upright

The Three Species of Currawong

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66