@maninayton And The BlueBells In The Wood

in #nature7 years ago

Bluebells (Hyacinthoides non-scripta) are one of the most distinctive flowers in English woodlands at this time of year.

BlueBell1

They carpet the floor of the woods taking advantage of the sunshine before the tree canopy grows over and cuts the light levels down.

Native Bluebells are under threat in certain parts of the country from the introduced Spanish variety (Hyacinthoides hispanica) because of cross-breeding. This dilutes the unique characteristics of the native species and destroys them forever.

Bluebell2

These are native Bluebells.

Bluebells3

Bluebells4

Bluebells5

Divider

I hope you have enjoyed this post and would consider following me (I will reciprocate). Some of my posts are about mental health issues while others cover a wide range of subjects. For a taster of my musings please follow these links:-

My family link to the Charge of The Light Brigade

10,500-year-old finds near my home town

How is my chilli oil coming on?

A walk through Poppies

Divider

Until next time - take care of yourselves....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45