Back Acres: Beaver Dams Up the Creek - Not for Long

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Just across my property line in the valley is a creek with a bridge that we enjoy visiting. On one of my recent visits to the bridge a few weeks ago - I was amazed to find a beaver dam just up the creek.

Beaver Dam - Up the Creek from the Bridge

Click to watch the Video

The Creek before the Beaver Dam

In the picture below you can see just up creek from the bridge - before the beaver dam was built. The large rocks on the left side of the creek can be used as a point of reference for the beaver dam picture above.

The Picture below is the Creek - before the Beaver Dam

Click to Watch the Video

Beaver Creek Dam Construction

In the picture above you can see the log on the left side of the creek, and that the ground on the left side of the creek goes much higher. The beavers had to build up the right side of the creek. First they piled sticks, then mud and clay on the water side of the pile of sticks. This also helped narrow the gap of the creek where they built the dam.

Made the Trek to the Second Beaver Dam

The edge along the beaver creek is unstable and lined with many small trees. It was easier for me to travel through the field beside the tree lined creek then cut back through the trees to the second dam and pond. Below is a picture of the path to 2nd Beaver Dam - a lot of overgrowth and poison ivy, the large beaver pond is just beyond those tall trees. Luckily poison ivy doesn't bother me, but people can have severe reactions to it, so be sure you know what poison ivy and and other bothersome plants look like before you go trekking off the path in your area.

ontheway.jpg

I wanted to find the home - or lodge of the beaver. It's a large mound on the beaver dam created pond that they enter from the bottom - from under the water of the pond. North American beavers have to make their ponds large enough so they don't completely freeze in the winter - or else the beaver would be trapped in the lodge. Beavers stick freshly chewed off branches into the mud of the bottom of their pond for retrieving and eating in the winter.

Second Beaver Dam and Pond

Click to Watch the Video

In the picture above you can see that I managed to find another beaver dam up the creek from the first dam. This dam created a much larger beaver pond - click the picture above to watch the video of the second beaver dam and pond. Unfortunately I was not able to spot the beaver lodge before I headed back to the cabin. I will return soon to this beaver pond possibly with a small raft or water boots to try to locate the beaver lodge.

The North American Beaver


Beaver Illustration Source

Beavers have large teeth for chewing down trees and removing branches, webbed back feet for improved swimming, front paws with claws, and a large flat tail that is used for signaling danger and storing extra fat. Beavers eat the inner bark of trees, leaves, and other forest and aquatic vegetation. For more information about the North American beaver: Wikipedia: North American Beaver.

First Beaver Dam Taken Down

In the picture below you can see the first beaver dam that is near the creek bridge. A few days later we heard noises down by the creek from our cabin half way up the other side of the valley. I also noticed that I could hear the creek flowing again, so my son and I went down there to investigate.

Click to Watch the Video

When we arrived at the creek bridge there were two teenagers sitting on the bridge and one was in the creek - taking apart the dam. It had been a few rain less days since discovering the beaver dams, they said the creek had completely stopped. They used to live near the lake and visit this creek often - they still liked to come out here once in a while in the summer from the city. One of them said that one time he had came down to the creek and a beaver started slapping his tail on the water. He said all the beavers swam to the other side of the shore and ran off into the woods. Below is a picture of the creek after the beaver dam was removed.

Click to Watch the Video

Stay tuned for the next trek to beaver creek.

Have a great day!

Sort:  

This is a great post, @jackdub! Thanks for coming on Talk of the Line to share it with us yesterday.

Growing up in a rural area, I had a few encounters with beavers along the way. Once, I was camping with a group of friends and we awoke one morning to find a beaver had chewed halfway through a tree that was right beside where my uncle parked his truck. Needless to say, he moved it very quickly, but we still had some laughs out of it.

Thanks for sharing the photos and video! I do have a suggestion about your image size. I'm on a 100 Mbps Internet connection, and your images took a moment to load in. I inspected one of them and found it to be around 7.5 MB, which is probably the original resolution.

If you want to make sure that no one will have problems loading in your images, I suggest making the file size smaller before including them in your posts. I outlined a method of doing this in a post I made last year if you want to check it out.

Another method I suggest is to use Google Photos' free unlimited storage. It will compress your photos slightly when you back them up, so you can then use that version on your post instead so the files aren't so large.

I remember when we first started @thesteemengine, we discovered a member who included a 75 MB image of something he had scanned in one of his blogs. @enchantedspirit and @catweasel gave up loading it on their internet connection before we finally tracked the guy down to give him the same advice.

Let me know if you have any questions, I'm happy to help!

Ah thanks, I have a new camera that most likely takes much higher resolutions than my phone did, I'll be sure to gimp them down to a smaller file size. Good thing you guys spotted that tree the beaver was about to take down :)

Awesome post. I spent many summers in Colorado fishing in beaver ponds and streams. Fun to watch how they change the environment. I have witnessed the tail slap warning. I think they generally head for the lodge or deep water when the warning is sounded.

Thanks - it was quite the surprise when I first saw the dam from the bridge. If they were in their beaver pond they would most likely go deep or go to the lodge, but they were in the shallow creek with no lodge to go to :) They're most active at night, so I'm going to have to head out to their big pond in the early morning or late night to try to capture them with the camera.

Wonder how long it takes them to rebuild....

Much of the pond structure they were building is still there, so I imagine in a night they could re-dam up the creek near the bridge. I suspect they've attempted to build an extra pond there for the kids many times :)

NICE BEAVER - lol
So....seriously - It's good to see there are animals taking up an active residence in the forest.... Shows the health of the woods.
I would love to see some beavers in the wild.

Lol I was tempted to title the post "searching for beaver". I'm really looking forward to exploring the large beaver pond that was further up the creek to see what they've built. From the small view I got from the second dam, the huge sprawling pond looks like a beaver paradise :)

LOL i just cannot help laughing when i say 'beeeever'

Good luck with them... Kind of a nuisance: they hear running water and come running, or swimming, or paddling as the case may be. Beaver tail soup might be your best bet...

I suggest you install pipes that run under the dam, or you will continually be fighting the beavers. They are helpful and create new waterways. They transform landscapes. It all depends on perspective.
I have seen a few documentaries, for our school, on how people worked to figure out how to work with them. That included a pipe, with a cap that can be removed when water levels get to high.


Leave it to Beavers full movie(supposedly)

Great shots and it always amazes me how Beavers can build these

Nice shots and nice hearing to your voice on TOTL yesterday 💚

This brings to mind Kilgore Trout's most widely-distributed book, "Plague on Wheels." It was published under the banner "Wide-Open Beavers Inside!"

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Our property ends about 20 ft shy of a river that rushes and floods halfway up our property and makes it a marshland in spring. In the summer, however, while it still runs fast and is deep in some parts, it's only knee deep where we can cross and explore. It's a good 20+ ft wide, so I've never seen any trace of a beaver dam, but I have seen branches that appeared to have been chewed off by beavers. We have intense winter's with heavy snow and the river does freeze in some parts. Now I'm really curious about these critters. Sounds like a homeschool lesson for the near future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99