You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Back Acres: Beaver Dams Up the Creek - Not for Long

in #nature6 years ago

This is a great post, @jackdub! Thanks for coming on Talk of the Line to share it with us yesterday.

Growing up in a rural area, I had a few encounters with beavers along the way. Once, I was camping with a group of friends and we awoke one morning to find a beaver had chewed halfway through a tree that was right beside where my uncle parked his truck. Needless to say, he moved it very quickly, but we still had some laughs out of it.

Thanks for sharing the photos and video! I do have a suggestion about your image size. I'm on a 100 Mbps Internet connection, and your images took a moment to load in. I inspected one of them and found it to be around 7.5 MB, which is probably the original resolution.

If you want to make sure that no one will have problems loading in your images, I suggest making the file size smaller before including them in your posts. I outlined a method of doing this in a post I made last year if you want to check it out.

Another method I suggest is to use Google Photos' free unlimited storage. It will compress your photos slightly when you back them up, so you can then use that version on your post instead so the files aren't so large.

I remember when we first started @thesteemengine, we discovered a member who included a 75 MB image of something he had scanned in one of his blogs. @enchantedspirit and @catweasel gave up loading it on their internet connection before we finally tracked the guy down to give him the same advice.

Let me know if you have any questions, I'm happy to help!

Sort:  

Ah thanks, I have a new camera that most likely takes much higher resolutions than my phone did, I'll be sure to gimp them down to a smaller file size. Good thing you guys spotted that tree the beaver was about to take down :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52