Sort:  

I didn't see this post for some reason, too many spams on my feed. Anyway, head lamp is so important. I always have this after some similar mistakes in the past. Much wiser.

Going onto an unfamiliar trail before dusk

I have this habit of trekking or going to a different trail just when it is getting dark. I feel like I'm just making myself feel scared or just getting myself into trouble, anyway I learned. Maybe I'll repeat the same mistake lol.

I think your "on a strange path in the night" story was potentially much more dangerous than mine.

great post - hopefully this helps some readers avoid getting into a similar situation! I have done similar things where I assumed a pack was still loaded with gear when it was not. Although more recently the scenario has been that I assumed my diaper bag was loaded with diapers when it was not - maybe not quite the dangerous scenario you faced but actually quite upsetting in the heat of the moment in a public restroom somewhere with a screaming two year old covered in poop and no diapers or wipies...

Hello friend,

Please pardon the off-topic comment here...

I'm just dropping by to say "thanks" for your participation in the ~God Waves~ show that I was a guest on today... Much appreciated!

😄😇😄

@creatr

It was interesting to hear your perspective on things.

I'm glad. Thank you, I appreciate your interest and look forward to future interaction.

I really love your post..very informative.and.intetesting as well..i used to do.this but my surgery hindered me at times now... We have lots of places like this and many are.enjoying

That must have been pretty scary. Good on you for keeping calm. I want to learn some survivalist training so I can take care of myself if I'm ever lost out in the woods. or if ya know...a zombie apocalypse occurs.

The psychological aspects are really under-appreciated!
Best advice I can give is to try a skill at a time. Watch how it's done then get out and do it. Nothing beats dirt time.
How did I know I could make a survivable bivvy? Because I practised until I could do it quickly with the gear I carry. I modified tge gear I carry to make it easier. I practised tying knots blindfolded and one handed in case I was in the dark and injured. Dirt time matters.

wow that is some awesome preparation! I imagine Obi Wan Kenobi standing over you saying encouraging but cryptic things about the force while you set up a bivvy blindfolded :)

I hope to never need to do that except in training. But you train harder than you expect to need. The blindfolded setup was more to add some training variation to setup a bivvy quickly. I'm still not sub-five minutes. I'm told two minutes is where I need to get.

Wow I didn't even consider that. I wouldn't have thought to practice things blindfolded. I'm from Canada so there is a lot of forest to explore. I'll have to get on YouTube and start learning. Thanks for the advice.

I have an aunt who lives near London, Ontario. I should go visit her. You have some great wilderness in Canada. A couple of good Candian youtubers are: joerobinet, myselfreliance and bushcraftheroes. Enjoy.

Yeah I've always had the urge to wander into the forests in Canada and explore but obviously that would be foolhardy with my lack of training/experience. Awesome, I'll check them out! Thanks again.

Learning from mistakes is a mistake not wasted. :)

Yes. I prefer to learn from the mistakes of others :) This is me giving back.

Yikes! What an adrenaline rush! Don't forget extra batteries for that flash light next time.

Always carry extra batteries for my lights. Duct taped so they don't short.

oh thank god at least you find foot trail

Yes. By being honest about being lost, and forcing myself to calm down and think instead of continuing to rush.

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-09-01 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

I'd be interested in a list breakdown of what you carry for which situations. I'm just starting to look at through hiking and will need to build a good pack, and the sense to go along with it~

A lot depends on climate, risks and your skill sets. Stuff you don't know how to use is dead weight. You actually don't need all that much. But when you read/see what others do, always think about how it might (or might not) apply to your own cirumstances. Anybody insisting their way is the right way is probably not talking enough about the context of use. If you're starting out, go with others on day hikes in the beginning . Apart from clothing, food and water, you might find this interesting: 3 Item Survival Kit
I am intending to do a dump of what's in my modular gear system. And a complete inventory of what I carried on the Tongariro Crossing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24