Sort:  

Ok, I found myself going to nature trips, and I was always unprepared. I definitely need the rain poncho. I once walked up to Machu Picchu along the railway through the darkness and didn't have this... It rained. (This experience was in one of my old posts)

I always have a lighter (in case I need fire), when I was camping alone in a mountain, I thought I could make a fire then realized I didn't have a lighter or match.

Rechargeable lamp (small) I just bought this.

I want to buy a proper swiss knife or a Bear Grylls knife. But that means I always have to check in my backpack in the airport. It's expensive and I just lose things. I'll have to buy a cheaper one I guess.

I always have a whistle.

I've never seen an emergency blanket like that, wow it is too small huh?

Yes! Sometimes we learn the hard way. Those times make for the best stories.
I love your tips. I'll do an article on my personal modular survival kit system later. I agree with everything you've listed.

That particular mylar survival blanket is really small. I can wrap it around my core, and duct tape it up. It's okay in combination with the poncho and perfectly good for children or smaller adults. In longer/wetter/colder situations I carry either an emergency bag (like a large thicker plastic rubbish sack, but bright coloured) that fits me, or an emergency tube tent. I'm considering a hike in the Himalayas and for that I'll take a proper blizzard bag.

And knives:
I tend to not like the Bear Grylls knives. If I want something that big I prefer the value-for-money Morakniv (Mora). I rarely need anything that big. Most Bear Grylls models I see are more for Mountaineers so they have serrations for cutting ropes easier. I prefer unserrated blades. A good swiss army folding knife is all I usually take. I have a lanyard tied to mine and that lanyard is attached to my belt. There's a backup blade (3cm) in my first aid kit too.
Travelling with a knife is always a problem. But, an emergency knife doesn't have to be much. It's surprising what you can find at a dollar store. I once borrowed a steak knife and made a sheath from cardboard and duct tape. Heh. I mean quality gear is great, but you can get by with very little.

I'm off to find your post about the hike to Machu Picchu. Your stories are always amazing.

Here it's way down below my feed:

https://steemit.com/travel/@diabolika/into-the-darkness-and-back-into-the-light-a-solitary-walk-to-machu-picchu

I have a lot of stories of how I went to nature trips unprepared, I wish I have the energy to write everything. But I'll save them for later I guess.

Yeah, maybe I don't need a big knife but I'm going to check that Morakniv, thanks for the recommendation. I had a very cheap knife used for cutting fruits, good thing I didn't have to use it to this Brazillian truck driver who almost attacked me (this was also in one of my earlier posts).

Some friends warned me about carrying a knife, but I told them it's not for people. It's more for slicing fruits, food etc..,

I'm planning to camp in an island, and I would definitely have to prepare this time. I will surely post my experience here on steemit.

Swiss knife would be good too, but I don't need a lot of those fancy things inside. Maybe I need a can opener and some small blade with it.

I appreciate if you post more survival tips, but I will try and read online as well.

Thanks!

Thanks. I just back from reading that post. Wow, lucky those Mexicans came along.

The Swiss army knives come in many editions. The Hiker or Camper models are reasonably lightweight and have what you need. The "Champ" model is a massive weighty chunk of stuff you'll never use - so, while I love my Champ (it was a gift), I never take it anywhere. For the same weight I'd rather carry a small multi-tool.
I'm paranoid about losing my knife and they have a ring to attach a cord so you can tie it to something.

I'll check the online shops about these knives. Maybe something not too expensive as I always lose it, or it gets confiscated by the security, wherever I go.

Thanks, I will wait for more posts from you about this. And also your trip to the Himalayas.

I like the idea of a 3-item handout kit. Very simple, very affordable, and easy to give out to anyone who is lacking for those short hikes. Calling @tomtrademore and @AmericanPreppers to offer an upvote as well.

Upvoting and sharing this post on our facebook page

Thank you for sharing the helpful prepping tip! Upvoted and following

Beep beep. Hi @preppers! I am @tipU - a service designed to make sending tips super easy.
I also share my profits with the users ;) Click here if you wish to learn more!

Thank you, I will take a look at this

Thanks. Following you all too. I'm looking for like minded people.

Fantastic idea! We recently went to Red River New Mexico and drove atv's up several trails. I was happy I had a first aid kit as a couple with a two year old was by one of the lakes and the child sustained a severe burn on their muffler pipe (these folks were not with us). I pulled out my kit and gave them the burn gel that was in my kit and offered my instant ice pack but they had an ice chest with ice. I felt awful for the child, but was grateful I had something that might bring him some relief.

It's great to be prepared. Often it's to help others. TBH my first aid kit I've only used once on myself and multiple times on others.

It is definitely a great feeling to be able to help others less prepared.

Great tips 😊 I have all 3 items, but the wisle is in a survival army bracelet that includes like 8 different items.
Thank you for sharing, much good information
Followed Upvoted

Loading...

thx for sponsoring MAP/accelerator / new follower

thanks for sharing these, look super handy. I am gonna need that rain jacket ones for my coming trip

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 17.81 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @eturnerx.

Thanks For Share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48