You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lost in the dark. Mistakes were made.

in #nature7 years ago

That must have been pretty scary. Good on you for keeping calm. I want to learn some survivalist training so I can take care of myself if I'm ever lost out in the woods. or if ya know...a zombie apocalypse occurs.

Sort:  

The psychological aspects are really under-appreciated!
Best advice I can give is to try a skill at a time. Watch how it's done then get out and do it. Nothing beats dirt time.
How did I know I could make a survivable bivvy? Because I practised until I could do it quickly with the gear I carry. I modified tge gear I carry to make it easier. I practised tying knots blindfolded and one handed in case I was in the dark and injured. Dirt time matters.

wow that is some awesome preparation! I imagine Obi Wan Kenobi standing over you saying encouraging but cryptic things about the force while you set up a bivvy blindfolded :)

I hope to never need to do that except in training. But you train harder than you expect to need. The blindfolded setup was more to add some training variation to setup a bivvy quickly. I'm still not sub-five minutes. I'm told two minutes is where I need to get.

Wow I didn't even consider that. I wouldn't have thought to practice things blindfolded. I'm from Canada so there is a lot of forest to explore. I'll have to get on YouTube and start learning. Thanks for the advice.

I have an aunt who lives near London, Ontario. I should go visit her. You have some great wilderness in Canada. A couple of good Candian youtubers are: joerobinet, myselfreliance and bushcraftheroes. Enjoy.

Yeah I've always had the urge to wander into the forests in Canada and explore but obviously that would be foolhardy with my lack of training/experience. Awesome, I'll check them out! Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62065.67
ETH 2429.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68