Daily Nature Fix: Milky Way, with a side of Northern Lights. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemit. Tonight's Daily Nature Fix was inspired by this post (https://steemit.com/photography/@nords/2017-geminid-meteor-shower-original-pictures-from-the-desert-pt-2-saved-the-best-for-last) by @nords. If ya got a minute, check it out. It's some awesome photography of his that he took in the desert during the Geminid meteor shower. It made me want to look back at some of my nighttime photography that I haven't really done much with since I took it all.

AuroraMWbg01.jpg

These photos were taken on our trip to Iceland last month. On our 3rd and 4th night there, the northern nights were somewhat active. The first night was sort of a bust because we had pretty heavy cloud cover. The second night, however, was awesome as the skies were crystal clear and the lights were even MORE active than the night before. These photos were taken around 3am and the lights were dying down quite a bit... but the Milky Way isn't as visible in the photos from earlier in the night when the aurora was much stronger.

AuroraMWbg01.jpg

My friend @lakeshorebrewery actually got me into this kind of long-exposure photography through on of his older Steemit posts. This one, to be exact: https://steemit.com/photography/@lakeshorebrewery/new-hobby I got a lot of tips and pointers from him that I used in Iceland and in Cherry Springs State Park here in PA, a national 'dark park'. I also learned a lot about how to process the images from the incredibly talented @joleenwillis, AND a couple other tricks of the trade from my brother @kommienezuspadt. The last two are both professional photographers... they're some good company to keep when you're a hobbyist trying to improve your skill, like myself!

AuroraMWbg00.jpg

This last one was a closer up photo where I zoomed the lens into the Milky Way a bit more. I wish I know how to upload it in as high of a resolution as it looks in photoshop! lol The amount of stars is insane. Pretty much, the whole country of Iceland is pitch black once you get away from Reykjavik... aside from the occasional small village or greenhouse. I didn't even know some of the green Aurora lights snuck into the bottom of the shot until I cleaned it up on tonight. Neat!

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Nice. I would love to shoot the lights up in Iceland. We are lucky to see them up in Canada here where I live also.

Beautiful! This is on my bucket list. You're so lucky to have seen it more than once! Wonderful photography...I don't even deserve a mention, this is all you!

lol Don't make me post a "before editing" photo, where it's pretty much pitch black.

This genre is really one of my frustrations, I never made any success on astrophorography..

I'm not an expert, by any means... but a good set of parameters is this: 25s exposure, 3.5 - 4 aperature, 1800ish ISO, focus to infinite, and a sturdy tripod. Then he real magic happens in photoshop when you start adjusting the levels. Hope that helps!

I would really find time for this hehe Thanks man

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 04:43:40
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

beautiful scenery, nice work

the photos are so pretty, very affectionate if Miss the sky looks very beautiful.
i resteem you post

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever… It remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”
Loved the all of the clicks specially this oneDQmZ7DnsHPK6dW5qjA5Qghz5aQGhBNwL6CpkMuKTjMWa9G4_1680x8400.jpeg
The photography skills are phenomenal.
“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever… It remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”
It's shows the beauty of the northern lights. #MilkyWay! Thanks for sharing this @customnature

great one ! Maybe you will like my latest milkyway timelapse :) Let me know what you think of it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46