2017 Geminid Meteor Shower - Original pictures from the desert pt 2 (saved the best for last)

in #photography6 years ago

From my first post (be sure to check it out too!):

A couple weeks ago was the annual Geminid meteor shower where I spent 5 hours alone in the desert to try and capture meteors.

Even though it is in the Arizona desert, at night, in December, the temperatures were a brisk 60 degrees or so, so I put on my jacket and drove a ways out of the city light pollution until it was pitch black. (I used https://www.lightpollutionmap.info which is an interactive light pollution map to find exactly how far you have to go to get away from the dull glow of cities. I chose the VIIRS 2017 satellite)

298.jpg

286.jpg

308.jpg

368.jpg

401.jpg
You can see the reflection in the lake a bit

And just for fun, I threw 87 images that were all mostly the same exposure into a gif. This is 50 minutes condensed into a gif.

starsgif.gif

All shot with Canon 5dmkII and 17-40mm at 20mm, ISO around 2000, around 40-60 second exposures.

Be sure to check out my other photography on My Blog!

Sort:  

Everything about this post is incredible. I'm going camping in Death Valley next month during the new moon and I hope to capture some photos half as awesome as these!

Thanks! Yeah definitely bring a tripod and whatever you need to take long exposures (remote shutter release/bulb, extra batteries etc) and spend some time while the sun is down and its nice out, and post them here!

You've inspired me to revisit some of my night photos from our last trip. I have a lot of photos of the northern lights in Iceland and, by coincidence, it was during the peak of the Orinid meteor shower. The meteorites didn't really show up too well, but I still got some neat photos! I'll post them in the near future.

This is beautiful!
As an astrophysicist (yep, did more in theory than chasing stars in the field - even tho I did some of that) never seen these light filaments in the sky, any explanation?

Thanks for sharing this beautiful photos and nice gif! Keep it coming :)

Thanks! And the filaments are just meteors, not sure if you've ever stayed up late at night during a meteor storm, but these happen randomly all year, but some nights there are THOUSANDS of them :) https://solarsystem.nasa.gov/planets/meteors/indepth

Well yes, it's my profession, had one photo of it too. :D
But the yellowish light thing, that cant be swarm of meteors, clouds maybe? O

OHH sorry, I gotcha now, I was a little confused why someone of your education wouldn't know about meteors, but you never know ;) (I was thinking maybe you were all into the math of it or something and hadn't seen one:P ). Yeah those were odd whisps of clouds being lit up by orange light pollution from the city. You can see them dissipate and move away in the bottom gif.

But they do look really cool, kinda like a crown, or maybe nebula formation or something. I like that they add another element to the photos.

yeah, viewing it few times in gif I realized they are clouds. But they have formation like northern lights with a little less color effect. :)
Once again great photos and thanks for sharing them.
Cheers

Really beautiful! We never have so many stars here germany :/

Thanks! And thats a bummer, nowhere in the rural forest areas where there isn't much light pollution? Use my link at top for the pollution map and see if theres anywhere near you dark enough :)

Woow!! This is amazing! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it, not many people get out to watch the meteors :)

You have a beautiful shots in every piece, great @nords!!, that is oneplace that I want to visit , You really good in taking great shots!

Why thank you! I'll keep posting my photography, comments like this really make it worth sharing :)

Yeah.. You know @nords you make others inspired with your photos taken. And that is our role, keep inspiring others bro. You really doing a greatworks.

Wow! Great work, lovely shots & I love the time lapse that you kept 'till last.
Massive 'thumbs up!'

Thank you. I wasn't planning on making a gif, but I noticed that a ton of them were taken with almost identical exposures and I hadn't reframed the shot and figured why not.

I'm glad you did, the result is great.

Really nice work, I need to get out and do some more Milky Way shots.

Thanks, be sure to check that link to the light pollution map, its SO handy to find the best places to shoot the milky way

Great captures! I tried to capture some meteors a few years ago but didnt get a single one despite doing 20-30sec exposures...I think I didn't have a wide enough lens. Can you provide your lens & shot settings? Thanks!

Yeah, its not easy to get meteors, since they appear randomly it seems. I was shooting at 17-20 mm on a full frame camera, so pretty wide. But even then I would aim at one part of the sky and I'd see meteors EVERYWHERE ELSE but in frame. I think I went an hour without getting one on camera, but they sure were everywhere else!

Yep exactly my experience, always aiming the wrong direction! I have a cropped frame sensor, so my kit 18-55 is more like 35+mm. Not quite wide enough.

haha, yeah its almost comical trying to capture them. I'd literally scream out loud as an AWESOME one would streak across the sky... on the opposite side of the sky I was aiming at, oh well, thats part of the game. And my move from crop to FF was great, and I'll never shoot crop again (unless I need that extra false zoom for some reason)

wall the is so good i mean who can thoght the deserycan be that beautiful

ha I know, I was a little worried I wouldn't find any good foreground to shoot, but these massive saguaros do the trick.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 23:07:03
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 160.04/200.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46