DIY Fresh Pine Skin Toner

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)


Pine trees are becoming a wintertime favorite in both our kitchen and home Apothecary.


When the snow blankets the land, it buries many of the common herbs and plants that we tend to rely on. On these wintery day's we find ourselves looking up to the magestic trees that tower above us. When looking to nature for healing and skin care, trees are incredible allies that should not be overlooked.


I recently wrote about the culinary uses for pine, and today I wanted to share the nourishing skin benefits pine offers. I have included a recipe for fresh pine skin toner. It is easy to make and only takes about 15 minutes to prepare.

Pine is an exceptional ingredient for winter time skincare! An affordable and readily available ingredient, pine offers exceptional skin-nourishing benefits. Pine essential oil is beneficial to all skin types. It can be used to balance skin, which includes reducing inflammation and redness. Pine is mildly astringent which improves circulation. This has the lovely benefit of giving your skin a healthy fresh glow. It contains antioxidants that help fight off free radicals and it’s incredibly antibacterial and antiseptic.

Evergreen needles, resin, bark, and cones are all beneficial and can be used for both culinary and medicinal uses. You can find resources for identifying and selecting the correct type of evergreens here.


Pine has a strong, fresh, resinous aroma which stimulates and refreshes the senses. It has warm revitalizing properties that promotes feelings of energy and well being.

The pines watch humanity come and go, while they live on. Among them, below them, we inhale their powerful fragrance, which shoots through our spirit and ends in an inner explosion of understanding. In doing so we are brought within the large embrace of nature and can inhale its presence, acceptance and wisdom.” Valerie Ann Worwood, Aromatherapy for the Soul
Fresh Pine Skin Toner

Fresh Pine Skin Toner Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup fresh pine needles (chopped)
  • 1 Cup distilled or purified water (you don't want tap water with chlorine or other additives)
  • 1/4 Cup Witch Hazel (pure - alcohol free)

Directions

  • Chop up the pine needles and add them to a small pot with one cup of water. Bring to a boil and remove from heat.
  • Allow the pine needle water to cool.
  • Strain out the pine needles and pour into a clean jar.
  • Add the witch hazel, affix a lid and shake to combine.
This skin toner should keep for up to one year when stored in a dark/cool cupboard.

If you like this, you can also learn how to make a simple pine infused vinegar (loaded with vitamin C) or a soothing salve using pine!


Information offered on Walkerland is for educational purposes only. Walkerland makes neither medical claim, nor intends to diagnose or treat medical conditions. Links to external sites are for informational purposes only. Walkerland neither endorses them nor is in any way responsible for their content. Readers must do their own research concerning the safety and usage of any herbs or supplements.



Posted with love from my blog walkerland.ca with SteemPress : https://www.walkerland.ca/diy-fresh-pine-skin-toner/

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Oh! I bet the whole house smells wonderful when you are making this!

It really does! I love bringing a bit of that forest scent into the house.

It looks so easy to make @walkerland. There's a grove of pines on our local golf course. I'll gather some later today and make my own skin toner now.

It's summer here in Sydney and VERY hot, so I'd imagine the pine toner would be very soothing for people who suffer heated rashes. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

I bet you are right. I'll have to add this to my summer routine so silly that I only think of using pine in winter.

The association of pine and winter is very strong and I guess I just put my summer associations together and came up with something that I hadn't thought about before either @walkerland. I love the way new 'thoughts' seem to come up all the time, when interacting with people at Steemit.

I didn't make it to the pines last night ~ Hope to tonight, and will let you know how the pine toner works. I have the feeling that it could be used even if there isn't an actual heat rash, but just to calm the skin, after being outside. And in this way be very soothing for the whole being.

I forgot to mention before. I really love your pine heart flatlay too. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thanks, @allyinspirit! Please do let me know what you think of the toner once you've had a chance to whip some up! :)

Sure will. Just have to get some Witch Hazel ~ Now that I have the pine needles.

Interesting @walkerland. Was feeling a little depleted, as it's been so hot here. When I was walking amongst the pines, it suddenly struck me that I didn't feel quite so depleted. So these trees must be really energizing too. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Congratulations @walkerland! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I have some Balsam Fir that is used for brewing to drink as a tea. DO you think if I used that it would also work?

yes, it should work perfectly. Balsam fir makes for really nice skin care products.

Awesome! I'll have to give it a try then. Can I substitute the Witch Hazel with anything else? The only Witch Hazel I have is the Bach Flower Remedy lol What does the Witch Hazel do in particular? Maybe I can do just the Balsam Fir.

I have never tried without using witch hazel so I'm not sure how it would do overall for the skin. Witch hazel has a lot of great skin benefits of its own. It won't do any harm to give it a try though.

Cool. Thanks ;)

wow I just love all that I am learning from you, I wish I had some pine trees near me, would love to try this out. Thank you beautiful one xxx

I wish I had olive trees near me! It would seem that we are both spending a lot of time with our beloved trees lately! :)

There's a street in my town that has rows of pine trees! It smells so amazing to take a walk there!! I can't wait to try this out!!!!

A street lined with pine trees sounds lovely! :)

Goodness. That is awesome. I need to start embracing our four big pine trees.

More uses for pine! I remember your post a while back where you mentioned nibbling the needles. I do that every couple days trying to develop a taste for it. I think I'm getting there.

If she hasn't already, I hope @porters sees this.

For straight up eating, the young spruce tips that come up in the spring are the best! Even people that are super fussy about the idea of eating "wild food" don't complain when I serve those in salads. They are very mild tasting in comparison to the pine.

Do you have birch trees in your area @nateonsteemit? The birch is my favorite tree of all, and they offer many nutritional and medicinal benefits as well.

https://steemit.com/naturalmedicine/@walkerland/natural-medicine-solutions-beautiful-birch-trees

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@walkerland/the-many-surpising-and-practical-uses-of-birch-trees

I have seen them, though they're not very common. Maybe a half a dozen that I've spotted along my half hour commute to work. They're the huge white trees, right? They stick out bigly in our oak stands here in North Texas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61