Food As Medicine - Using The Power Of Mushrooms to Heal and Support Me!


I am what I eat, so what I put into my body dictates how I feel, both physically and emotionally. When my body is out of balance or when I am suffering emotionally, I know that I need to increase the amount of nutrients that I consume so that my body can once again come in balance.

Down through the years I have let myself, become burned out, by pushing myself too much and not looking after myself how I should. As a mother it is easy to take the back sit, as you prioritize your children and do your best to ensure they receive all that they need. But of course how can we really look after others, if we do not first look after ourselves and also what sort of message would I be sending to my children if I didn't practice what I preach. Indeed it is best to teach by example.

I have this last year, been going through a very difficult time in my life, I have experienced so many life changes and found myself experiencing a lot of stress and heart ache. To be honest I was expecting myself to hit a brick wall at one point, to buckle under the pressure of becoming a single mum, whilst witnessing my sister losing her life to Cancer. I have suffered, but I never did hit that brick wall. Why?

I done a lot of research for my sister, looking up all the ways in which you can heal Cancer naturally and I found so much amazing information about mushrooms. I ended up buying her some in powder form, but in the end she did not use them.
I did however.

P_20190724_194040.jpg

When I got a call to say my sister was being admitted to a hospice, I along with my 3 children raced over to be with her. When I arrived I began to take the mushrooms that I had purchased for her. The mushrooms I took where Reishi, Maitake and Shitake. I had bought them individually for her, but I had also bought her a mushroom gold blend which had all 3 of them together.

Before I researched their healing properties with regards to Cancer, I knew already that they were adaptogens. That they have the ability to help your body adapt to stress. By adapting to the stress you are experiencing and also to your body. which means that these 3 mushrooms worked with my body so that my bodies needs where met and as a result helped to bring my whole being more into balance.

I have been a long time lover of mushrooms and have been fascinated by their ability to heal both the earth and us.

I took 2 capsules a day for two months which really helped my body and my mind to deal with the huge amount of emotional stress that I was experiencing in my life. I was not sleeping very much and my diet was quite poor during that time. Which meant that I was putting my body under a lot of strain, at a time where I really needed my whole self to be strong. When these mushrooms are in powered form they are more potent, I really felt like I needed that potency and I was right.


Even with all of that going on and my body not getting enough sleep and being feed a poor diet, these mushrooms in their potent form sustained me and supported me. I never got sick, not once in all that time and I know that is because of them.

When I returned to my home, I was in a much better place to look after myself. I began juicing again and also taking chlorella on a daily basis. I also had two weeks supply, left of the mushrooms. My diet is back to the way to the way it was, where I eat no processed foods only wholefoods.

Food is such wonderful medicine, such wonderful preventative medicine. We need to focus on strengthening our bodies so that they can cope with any dis ease that we may become exposed to. It is up to each one of us to decide whether we are eating to satisfy our hunger or to actually support the needs of our bodies.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

We'd love to start growing mushrooms. I have been lucky to find some chaga from time to time but I am never sure about the others. Still learning how to identify them. Food is a wonderful preventative medicine and I am so glad you were able to find an ally boost yourself up when you needed it most! xx

you should start, they are amazing, wow you have caga near you that is great finding them wild is the best really, like everything in life. I hope you are feeling better my friend xxx

thank you for this - resteemed upvoted - I am going to look into how to get these mushrooms - fresh or dried - thank you! Blessings!

thanks @in2itiveart, I am so glad you found it helpful and I would highly recommend these amazing mushrooms xx

You’ve been visited by @nateonsteemit on behalf of Natural Medicine!

So glad the mushies helped you in your time of need! I've been finding a lot of help in my Turkeytail Tincture lately, dealing with some respiratory issues (as usual). There's definite nourishment in the natural world.

This fortnight, we're having a food as medicine challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes. Check out the details by clicking here!


NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you!

50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

thank you @nateonsteemit, I imagine your tincture is very powerful, the wonderful world of fungi it really is amazing xx

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

thanks so much x

fascinating article @trucklife-family ! I was completely ignoring those mushrooms powers relative to Cancer especially ! thanks you for sharing :-)

you welcome dear @trucklife-family !

enjoy your weekend ❤️

I really must order some mushrooms! This post is a real reminder. Im going through intense stress myself and do need a boost. Great post... I think you were the only one to write on our funghi friends!!!

I do wish Mum would get Dad on reishi. The problem is he cant stomach much on chemo. Hes about to start a different treatment, so hope its not as bad.

🧡🧡🧡

Posted using Partiko Android

You really should get some especially Reishi.
Yeah it is hard to take a step back when you know of something that can help, I had to do that with my sis, but it was her journey, didn't make it easy though. Sending you love xx

I feel for you going through such a hard time but love that you had the resiliency to come out the other side seemingly stronger for having gone through it or at least living more heathily for your own sake and for your kids!
Thanks for sharing all that info about the mushrooms! I havre some I had bought awhile ago for my husband which he stopped taking and I think they could do me some good so I'm going to take them - such good stuff!

yes they are really good and yes do take them, I love that they can only do good and that they really adapt to our stories and provide us with what we need, exactly what they do in the wild xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87