The Healing Power of Water - My Natural Medicine Story...

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

Most people have a story tucked away about natural medicine and @NaturalMedicine wants to hear them giving a chance to win in the bi-weekly Wisdom Challenge - find out more here

Here's mine...

hand catching water drops healing power of water.jpg
source

I've always been a bit of a water baby. People would often say I'm part fish!

In my younger days, summer was spent at the cottage with a big part of the time in the water.

I spent my teen years playing water-polo and my first job was as a lifeguard, going on to be a swimming instructor.

A lot of time was spent in the water or around water but where I really experienced the healing power of water was in my recovery from a broken neck I got in a car accident . I was left paralyzed - you can read about my over coming paralysis here.

The water therapy was never offered as part of my recovery program by the hospital but was one me and my sister undertook on our own. I must say, I'm eternally grateful to my sister who stayed beside me through every step of my recovery. I won't have made the recovery I did without her.

My water therapy consisted of an almost daily visit to a local hotel pool which had a hot tub.. The hot tub would relax my muscles and the jets would massage the sore spots on my neck and back. This would loosen me up for my workout in the pool.

I still had the use of my arms so the first part of my workout was swimming, then I worked on my walking in chest deep water. Here there was no force of gravity pulling me down and I could exercise without any pain. I had been told I would never walk again but I was determined and the walking in the water worked the muscles needed for that mobility. I could maintain that walking movement, feeling normal for a bit on land before the forces of gravity started pulling me down. I kept working on this until I could walk with some aids (now I've got to the point where I don't need any aids any more).

Being in water can improve your emotional health and mental well-being.

For me, just getting away from the institutional setting of the hospital did wonders. Being I felt so at home in the water I could relax and have some fun. This became not only therapeutic for me but for my sister and son too. They could join me and forget about me being a patient and we could just enjoy ourselves.

When I returned to my country home, I bought a large hot tub/pool, big enough that I could continue my therapy.

I must say it was quite marvelous at the end of the day, to slip into the hot tub, outdoors, under the pine trees and to feel everything was okay! The aches and tightness would just melt away!

Do you feel that way having a relaxing tub? It can give you a physiological lift, especially if you set the mood around the tub with candles and peaceful music or try practicing mantra meditation in water. You may be pleasantly surprised by the soothing impact the sound vibrations have on you and your mantras can also affect the composition of water.

Dr. Emoto Masaru did an interesting experiment involving water crystals/structure and the power of thought.

Emoto said that water was a "blueprint for our reality" and that emotional "energies" and "vibrations" could change the physical structure of water.

source

about Dr Emoto Masaru water experiment.jpg

Water serves as a transporter of energy throughout your body…carried by blood and bodily fluids, it is the means by which nourishment is circulated throughout our bodies…this flow of water enables us to live active lives.

Taken from Emoto book "The Hidden Messages in Water"

Learn more about this fasinating experiment below

The above video also shows a little on how drinking structured water (water that has gone through a process to bring it to form cyrstals (if it were frozen) like in Emoto's experiments), the affects it could have on one's blood cells.

That is another area, drinking water, where the healing properties of water can be felt.

The body needs water to:

  • lubricate the joints. ...
  • form saliva and mucus. ...
  • boost skin health and beauty. ...
  • cushion the brain, spinal cord, and other sensitive tissues. ...
  • regulate body temperature. ...
  • flush body waste. ...
  • help maintain blood pressure. ...
  • the airways need it.

source

Did you know too that moving water found in streams and at the beach, can counter balance the build up of positive ions in your body from exposure to WiFi, cell signals and such, with their naturally occurring negative ions.

Wi-Fi and Cell signals fall into the radio-frequency electromagnetic fields category, something the World Health Organization boldly declared a “possible carcinogenic”.
source

In ancient times water was held for it's medicinal and therapeutic qualities -

In 2000 B.C. the Ancient Egyptians practiced bathing rituals in hopes of curing ailments. In the Old Testament people soaked in mineral waters for physical healing. The Ancient Greeks used water as a healing agent. Native Americans sat in sweat lodges as a way of purifying the body and mind.

source

And it is still carried on today with the many forms of hydrotherapy. The miraculous water - a necessity of life!

Have you felt the healing power of water? Or perhaps you have your own Natural Medicine story to tell. We'd love to hear about it. Share it in the Natural Medicine Wisdom Challenge!

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain


MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Sort:  

Water truly is a powerful medicine. It’s extremely inspiring to have read the story of your recovery through the use of water therapy. I’m really grateful for you that you are able to walk again! The dedication that it takes to recover in that manner is incredible and I applaud you. Thank you for sharing your beautiful inspiring story with us!

Thank-you for your kind words!
If it wasn't for the support I received from friends and family and the fact that I had a young son who I needed to recover so I could take care of him, I wouldn't have made that recovery.
It goes to show you to how much influence you can have on others by being kind and caring - it could be all that is needed to make a difference in someone's life!

What a fascinating read @porters! I have also been told I am part fish and also began my work career as a lifesaver! So we have a bit more in common. This is really an incredible story of your healing and I am so grateful that I didn't miss it! I have missed out on a lot but hopefully I'll be a little more active around here. Great video link! Water truly is incredible

Oh @buckaroo it is so good to hear from you! I have been thinking of you especially when I hear stories from South Africa! Wondering how you are doing and if you had your baby yet? Hope all is well with you and your family! Will your young ones grow up to be part fish too?
Thank goodness for the healing power of water!

Well considering my husband is also a water baby, our children will probably be dolphins! My little one is due in Spring, so nearly two months to go still! Thank you for your quick response and your support @porters

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thanks so much for the curation @vibesforlife!

I am not the biggest fan of going in the water, but I know things like swimming and relaxing can benefit you in general.

What a remarkable and inspiring story @porters! I am so glad that water therapy worked for you. My son is a water baby and I know my mom swims twice a week for her own health/mobility. I should give her more credit really for trying in at least this area as we often butt heads over her health/lifestyle choices.

Love the water and miss being surrounded by it, always soothing and nourishing to be on, near or in pristine lakes - we've got the rivers around here but it's not quite the same as the great slave lake.

Glad my post helped you see your mom's efforts to maintain her health more clearly!
That must have been wonderful to be on the great slave lake!
We have a lake at the end of our road that the community use to all gather to go swimming in at the end of the day. Sadly it is starting to die for they put in an "improved" road and cut off the water inflow to the lake. Must keep the traffic flowing - never mind the water flow!

Very cool post! My husband and my son are pretty much water babies, me very much less.

It was cool your sister helped you with the water therapy and you got your mobility back!

I strongly believe it the medicinal powers of water. My husband and I have visited therapeutic spots that really helped him. The water containing certain minerals. I am so glad you regained your ability to walk.

From one water baby to another, I think that I should seriously find a hot spring around here.
I used to almost live in the water, but since my accident, I have only been in a pool about 5 times over the past 39 Years!!!
So great to have seen this post my friend and I will soon make work of it.
Blessings and bookmarked!

Oh! I do hope you find a hot spring! They can do wonders for your healing!
Strange that you almost lived in the water and left it after your car accident when it was the water that played the biggest part in my recovery!
I'd be interested to know what results you get if you find your hot spring!
Be well and happy!

Such an interesting post! Thank you.
I just appreciate the soft thrumming of hot water on my shoulders in the shower and am transported to a magical place..........

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96