My Daily Detox Smoothie

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

This Post is my Response to the @NaturalMedicine Challenge - Let Food Be Thy Medicine

Thankfully I have always been very mindful about what goes in my body. I do not feel tempted looking at delicious food, I can easily give it a pass, where as I know many people cannot do it. Like in my own family my Husband. He gets totally out of control when it comes to food, He is a big time foodie and loves to eat no matter what consequences it brings to health. Daily I try to keep putting some words of good health and diet on his ears but he kind of gives me a pass on that :-)

Now since I am not able to control him much on that, I try to come up with ways which can to an extent cover up for the mess he creates to his system. I came up with a daily dose of Detox Smoothie for him, which is very nutritious and helps cleanse his body to an extent. It's a gentle Detox Smoothie of Avocado and Celery mix. Sometimes I also mix up Carrot and Parsley in it, but most of the time it is only Avocado and Celery. It's more than a year that I have been giving this to him regularly almost on daily basis, yes but when we travel there is a miss. Last year with his Autoimmune he was completely down and left with no energy at all. While I have heard and seen of many AI cases where people get caught up in the symptoms for a very long time and they are back to back down with something or the other. But in my husband's case we have been lucky that after the first symptoms and we taking all the precautions he has been very stable and our lives got back to normal in a very short duration. We have been doing many things around his health and most of them have been natural therapies, which I feel are helping him a lot. Also his steroids tablets dose which was started with 4 a day we have managed to now bring it down to 1 and hopefully in the next few months we will be stopping it completely.

Around a year back we were in a panic situation, where doctors wanted us to go for immediate surgery and a lot of chaos around it. The recovery from the surgery was also not guaranteed and we were in a fix. While me and my son strongly believe in natural therapies my husband would not mind trying it out so that was advantageous, but we had a lot of criticism from our extended families where my own sister would tell me that I have gone mad and I am ruining his health further. Thankfully today I can show them the benefits of natural therapies against the conventional therapies that most of the people are stuck with. My own neighbor has been fighting out with her AI since almost 5 years, now she has also shifted to other alternatives and sees good results.

While I will not say that this particular Detox Smoothie has only helped him but yes to a large extent it has helped him regain his energy and flushing out toxins from his body. Since I make it for him daily I also make it a point to have it, it's a good practice so there is no harm in having it. It's very very simple and takes not more then 5 minutes to prepare.

Recipe
1 Stalk of Celery
1 Avocado
Parsley
1 and half glass of water

Mix all the ingredients in the blender and blend it till it's smooth and the drink is ready.


Source

Celery is rich in vitamins A, C and K, folate and potassium. It is full of antioxidants and contains dietary fiber and water which helps flush out toxins and keep the bowel function regular.

Avocadorich in vitamins C, E, K and also known as the Super food. It is the only fruit that provides a substantial amount of healthy monounsaturated fatty acids that helps in healthy brain development. Also the bad Cholesterol lowers when saturated fat is supplemented. It is healthy for the Heart, Brain, Vision, preventing against cancer and more importantly a very good natural detox, regulates the immune system and controls the inflammation in the body.

Parsley again rich in vitamins A, C and K, folate and iron. Regular intake supports the immune system and helps the body keep away from chronic disease by discarding free radicals and helping to prevent damage to the cells

All of these I call Super rich foods, since all of them are loaded with vitamins and mineral which helps build up the immune system, kills viruses from the body and help body regain it's natural health.

Whenever I have a guest at home, it becomes compulsory for them also to have it, they enjoy it and tell me when they go that they are going to miss this part the most when they get back home :-)

I am sure you enjoyed this recipe and surely want to try it out for yourself.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

bloggif_5c17c7088f8ae.gif

My other blogs of Interest


A Collection of Vintage Cars for the Car lovers🚗🚙
Time is Ticking; Are We Living in the Now?
The Road to Steem Fest - Who would I like to meet in Thailand
"A Gift from my Son"
Sublime Sunday - Weekend Outing to the Mountains

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

Sort:  

That smoothie looks real nice.

I recently tried drinking celery juice every morning to help balance my stomach acid in an ongoing long term attempt to figure out how to treat a chronic condition I suffer from called SIBO.

The celery juice regime didn't work and actually made some symptoms worse... but I might give this smoothie a try as I think the large amount of juiced celery may have been a little harsh on my system. The other ingredients in this smoothie may balance the celery 🙂

It's worth a try. Looks so healthy 🥑🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes you can try reducing the dose. Though Celery does not give any side effects but the study says if one has Irritable Bowel Syndrome then it should be avoided or taken to an extent of only 10 gms a day.

Yes thank you so much for sharing. I recently posted about my weakness toward good food, I relate to your husband the foodie...
So grateful for the nutrient breakdown as well. Cant wait to try your detox smoothie!

Posted using Partiko Android

I can understand, the craving is very strong and just cannot resist but a little mindfulness helps which I keep telling my husband all the time :-)
Thank you for visiting my blog :-)

Greta post that smoothie sounds very healthy

Thank you :-)

I think it is better for us to drink smoothies like that because eating sometimes is really a chore especially for people like me where it is hard for me to chew @nainaztengra

Ahhaa, that's true, it's easier to consume, but both of them are not very difficult to eat otherwise also, but my husband will never eat so the juice form is best for me to make and give to him.

it seems to me all people around like avocado, except me!
I tried it some times, kist cut a piece and tasted - didn't like it at all! maybe it's wrong, and it should be eaten only in smoothies and salads?
do you eat avocado alone?
what taste should be? it was like a piece of fat for me:(

Ahhaa, is it. Really that's very strange. I can eat it alone and I like it that way but my hubby does not, so I need to make the smoothie of it. I feel it has no taste, just like water in the solid form :-)

You got a 23.91% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nainaztengra! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Super nice post! We also start each day with a morning Super Smoothie. Today's was Banana, Plum, Dragon fruit, Lime, Coconut oil, Coconut cream, Moringa powder and Bee pollen. T'was AWESOME. Such important natural medicine to feed the body well.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Wow, that's a whole lot of healthy stuff and it would be quite a heavy stuff almost like a meal. Even this one makes me full and the dinner gets light which in a way is good also so that we don't end up eating heavy at night time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52