Why I'm Happy I Moved Away From Refined Sugar.

I was a sickly child, often had colds and ear infections. In my teens, my weight would yoyo between 7 and 8 stone. Just when I was getting back up to 8 stone, I’d get sick again and my weight would plummet. When I did finally get over 8 stone my health improved a fair bit.

Fast forward a few years, when my children started school and I started getting colds more often again. That wasn't too surprising as children do pick up a lot of viruses, but it got you the point where after each cold I would get a sinus infection, no matter how mild the cold was. This would take weeks to shift, then once I did shift it, I'd be lucky to have a couple of healthy weeks before the next cold hit me.

Moving from England to South Australia took me out of a damp, polluted environment to a much drier cleaner one. I arrived with the last dregs of a cold and sinus infection. However, things improved and I finally got to enjoy life with a lot less colds, although gastro became a bit more common.

Fast forward again to a few year's ago and I was watching The Quest For the Cures Continues. One of the things discussed was refined sugars and how they lower your immune system. They weren't referring to naturally occurring sugars, just the manmade, refined ones. I wasn't sure how or why, but I decided to start weaning us off them. That Sugar Film clinched it for me.

Sweets and lollies were fairly easy to cut out, as we aren't big consumers of them anyway, then we started substituting honey in our baking and checking labels for hidden sugars. I had no idea just how many things sugar is added to, including savoury items! I started cooking a whole lot more and avoiding prepackaged foods.

A few months in and I realised we hadn't been sick for weeks, despite everyone with their colds around us. This was actual confirmation for me that refined sugar really could be damaging to the immune system. Curious, I looked up why this might be. The theory is that the refining process makes it mimic vitamin C. Immune cells need vitamin C to do their job; it's like the ammunition. Without it they may as well be firing blanks. When your body is full of refined sugar, the immune cell receptor slots this in, blocking vitamin C from being taken on as it should be, dramatically reducing the effectiveness of the immune system.

lips.jpg

I probably still get the occasional virus. Maybe once a year it will make me obviously sick, but recovery is usually fairly quick. Other times I might feel a bit drained for a few days or get a headache. Other times colds and flu will be doing the rounds, but seem to miss me.

It's entirely possible that cooking from scratch more often has also helped my general health, but I've noticed certain family members who have added more sugary treats back in have increased their occurrence of sickness.

Another benefit of reducing sugars in our diet has been an improvement in being able to taste the actual flavours of the food we're eating and having less of a craving for sweet things. There are certain foods I just can't face any more. Then I can't go without acknowledging the fact that my teeth are thanking me for kicking sugar too the curb too.

I will admit, there are occasions when I will eat something which I know has sugar in it as a treat or because I'm out and about and the choice is limited. However, as it's no longer in my diet every day, throughout the day, this isn't a big issue.

~○♤○~

This was written in response to the @naturalmedicine contest exploring The healing power of food. I’ve taken a bit of a different approach in that this is more along the lines of the removal of something from our food, but it's my best food healing experience.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @minismallholding! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6500 comments. Your next target is to reach 7000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

I haven't seen that movie "The Quest for the Cure Continues" although I saw the first one. I'm so happy people are educating others on the dangers of some of our refined and/or adulterated foods and I thank-you for sharing your story of taking some of those foods out of your diet and the difference it made to your health! I did the same thing and got the same results. I work with young kids in the schools where there is loads of viruses, colds, flues, etc. going around but they seem to miss me and if I do get sick I get over it fairly quickly. All goes to say if you eat healthy you will be healthier! Wonderful entry to the Natural Medicine "Food as Medicine" Challenge!

This fortnight, we're having a food as medicine challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes. Check out the details by clicking here!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

I've never seen the first one @porters. Was it a movie? The second one is actually a series, so it must have gotten a bit long for making it a movie. It was certainly an eye opener for me. Made me cry in places at the realisation that we put some things into our children believing them to be the best thing for them and potentially cause some of the chronic issues we get.

I think the whole sugar 'thing' is HUGE in terms of natural healing. This is an important part of the discussion - that some pervasive and accepted "foods" (I use that term loosely!) need to be dramatically reduced or eliminated altogether.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Agreed! The more it's been altered from the original, natural form, the worse it seems to be for you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Part of the reason you get sick less often is that you are no longer draining magnesium so heavily. It takes 6 magnesium molecules to process 1 sugar molecule.

I didn't know that. That could also explain why so many of us are constantly magnesium deficient. It's more than just our food being depleted.

I work in a private school and we are privileged to be served morning tea. For years its been good old Aussie slices.. hedgehog, caramel slice. Biscuits. I couldn't go down for morning tea as the temptation was there and I don't even like processed sugar!

Finally this year we get fruit platters and crudites and dip. As much as we appreciate chocolate i am sure the staff as a whole are much better off. I have always avoided sugar. But especially in winter... far better for immune system.

Posted using Partiko Android

We often get ourselves into bad habits in the way we do things, yet these kinds of get togethers are just the place to help each other support good habits, so it's good to heat that they've changed to healthier treats. Growing up we used to go to bring and share lunches with the Christian Community and cakes were a rarity. I got to try rice salads and Waldorf salads, with the different flavours that just weren't in the repertoire of shop bought foods. It was certainly a good introduction to foods and I still gravitate towards places which serve that little bit of more unusual variety.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've never really been a sweet tooth. I'll eat chocolate if its there; but I don't hunt it out.
Savoury though. I'll eat a box of BBQ shapes before the girl at the checkout has handed me the receipt.

I guarantee you that those Shapes have sugar in. I was gobsmacked with just how many foods have it in. Any chips that aren't just plain salted, most crackers and savoury biscuits. I drive me potty trying to find snacks without sugar. You'd think it was a no brainer for savoury snacks.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am afraid of eating sweet food due to afraid of diabetic. Because our family history inheritance that condition that is why I am afraid of sweets. Than you @minismallholding for sharing this sweeten articles ha! ha! thank you.

I can understand that. Best to prevent it in the first place. My grandmother was and uncle is diabetic, so I'm probably choosing a better path cutting sugar down in my life.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's good me I was drinking coffee with no sugar.

really..I have no idea that sugar will be helpful because I'm not a fan of sweets. But maybe I'll try it sometime.

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you get sick much? You're probably already healthier than I ever was, anyway, if you're not a sugar fiend. :D

Posted using Partiko Android

well I'm not, actually I haven't admit in the hospital for once, thanks God. 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sorry to hear your health hasn't been great. Do you have long term underlying health problems?

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you misunderstood me there, maybe my english was a bit rolling. lol

I never experience admitted in hospital. Cough and cold is easy to handle. That's we didn't go to a check up of a doctor.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh! Haha! Yes, the English language can have some subtleties which become confusing. One word can mean opposite things in different contexts.

In that case I'm very glad to hear you're in good health! I hope it stays that way.

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha true, no penny to pay the bill's in the hospital, so I'm so happy that I have a healthy life..
hope you are also

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't eaten refined sugar in like 2 years, I haven't lost weight, but now that you mention it i havent been sick either

We lost weight, but that could have also been down to changing the way we were eating too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60592.45
ETH 2714.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45