Sort:  

i brought krampot pepper when we visited thailand but in all honesty we dont eat that much... my partner reckons we get hot tempered when we eat 'hot' food which is kind of true. i knew about it working with tumeric but wasnt sure about other things. I might start re-introducing it in small doses. im also pretty sure there are other spices that work in combination with other foods that ais absorption thats why its always key to have a balanced diet! those fresh peppercorns look delicious btw!

Hot tempered when we eat hot foods? Hmmm.... a close look at the peoples of Asia, South America etc would suggest the opposite - it's the cold bland flavorless western cuisines that breed gun toting, war mongering nations. Hmmm... There ARE other foods that are bioenhancers, but none so effective as simple pepper.

haha i see what you are saying. The things in hot countries you can sweat everything out, in cold climates you cant. I dont think its the blandness of western food that makes ppl war mongerers but lack of vitamin d, sunshine and melanin in the skin. I used to be a spice and garlic addict but since cutting out 'harsher' flavours i have noticed a difference to my own person biodynamic, i was talking more personally not generally because i cant speak for everyone else. But i do know that in auyvedic eating there are cetain foods thats certain ppl shouldnt eat because of their doshas ( i also think star signs too) as both me and my partner are both really earth and fire, first food is extremely important being earth sign, that it is more sensual and and putting fire on the fire only creates more fire! my food is not bland tho, there are plenty of other milder spices that flavour my food. i recently ate a clove of garlic (after not eating garlic for months) and i didnt enjoy how the flavour over powered everything else and both me and my partner felt agitated the next day, i think we are special cases tho :)

so i looked up the other bioenhancers.... turmeric is one but i always read that using pepper enhancers turmeric?

I've been adding pepper to everything for ages just for that reason, and I used turmeric in just about everything as well.

BTW, you probably already know this, but were you aware that turmeric isn't well absorbed unless ingested with some fat?

I always use it with either coconut oil, grass-fed ghee or MCT oil, or a combination. And I usually include some ginger, too, since they seem to work better in combination than separately.

Many many foods (and not just turmeric) need good fats for absorption. Yes, I am very aware. The article was simply about pepper as a bioenhancer and I didn't want to veer off course. :)

Indeed. But it is important information for newbies, which is why I thought it was important to point it out. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

love this!!! thanks! resteemed. we always add black pepper to our turmeric... bioavailability is SO important <3

Add pepper to EVERYTHING. The idea that pepper only increases bioavailability of turmeric shows how indoctrinated we are by simplistic social media and silly memes. Thanks for the resteem. :)

You know what, I never realised those wierd ball things in my Thai curries sometimes were pepper!! Amazing. I knew about the bioavailability - but 2000 times? Wow. We pepper EVERYTHING - love it, more please!! And my boy has been a pepper fan since he was little. Maybe that's why we are healthy enough!

What a fabulous article... oh hang on WHAT A FABULOUS ARTICLE!!! XXX

Oops, forgot to log out of NM - it's @riverflows, of course. Well done, upvoting and resteeming, you NM goddess you!

There are two small balls in your Thai curries. The tiny ones are peppercorns - often green and fresh. The other ones, about the size of a pea, are little eggplants! Also a profound healing medicine I shall be blogging about one day soon. :) LOVE THE CAPS!!! LOL... makes me feel quite at home. :)

Congratulations @artemislives! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I experienced the bioavailability effects of black pepper when I was taking anticonvulsant pharmas and making the switch over to neutraceuricals. I began taking a turmeric supplement that had a heaping dose of black pepper along with it, and in less than a week was feeling the effects in both the pharmas and neutras, not all of them desirable lol!
It did however allow me to decrease my dosage of the anticonvulsant drugs and some of my supplements. And eventually I weaned off the pharmas, and I think it may have helped a bit with that too.
Now my hubby and I use copious amounts of freshly ground peppercorn when cooking always, so I no longer supplement. We are just hooked on that robust tingly pepper flavor.
Thanks for sharing this! Resteeming, you are spot on, bioavailability is everything!

Xx ToL

How very cool that pepper was instrumental in enabling you to wean yourself off anti-convulsant pharmas! :) Awesome to hear!! And yes, everything that this post was trying to be about. Much gratitude for the resteem!

Love my pepper put it on everything, unfortunately at work its the preground shit but have the good stuff at home. I got into using it when I had a cold with a turmeric drink did realise turmeric had the same effect avid use of that too. Thanks 💯🐒

I see a tiny little peppermill in your future - one that fits in a bag or pocket or backpack. Cos NO ONE should have to endure the preground crap! :) Dear Santa..... :)

Now thats and idea. My home one is too big to carry umm maybe. They can't think i'm any odder at work haha 💯🐒

I knew it! Why do all the things that I do not like have to be extremely healthy for me? :D I never liked the taste of pepper but since I am aware of its benefits, I try to add it to my food at least a little bit. Thank you for sharing this wonderful information with us.

So start with changing the thinking. "I'm learning to appreciate pepper". Combine it with other spices. Try pink pepper and green pepper, not just black pepper. You can allow yourself to release the idea of not liking it..... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76