Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you for this great service! ;)

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Really appreciating the support, the confidence boost and the curation. Following you too, so I can also help to support those other authors whom you curate and support. Gratitude and best wishes from Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand. Hope to meet you in Bangkok for SF4.

Unfortunately I can't be there.. Italy is far far away from Bangkok! But I'm very pleased to be able to support your posts ;-)

I will love to read this over and over again, this is because it raining season here in Ilorin, kwara state. Nigeria and we are very prone to mosquitoes. Thanks for this, knowledge found.

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure, Matthew. Hoping it helps in a small way - soooo much we can do to keep our homes and gardens mosquito free - more about that in other posts in the coming weeks. :)

Lots of wonderful advice here and some I was unaware of. I feel so lucky that the mosquitoes here do not carry any diseases, although they are annoying. I am going to save this for when I get to go travel with my girls in a few years, thank you @artemislives xx

A quick google will tell you that 70 municipalities in Spain struggle with deadly mosquito diseases. https://www.express.co.uk/news/science/961817/zika-dengue-spain-mosquito-outbreak-virus-symptoms-spain Sorry to burst your bubble.

That is in most of the heavily populated regions, not where I live I am in the mountains away from any cities, so there are none near me xx

You are the guru of all things. Can I swear??? Fkn mozzies **cue Aussie accent.

Know all this ALREADY from years of Asia travel... and mozzies here but EVERYONE who doesn't should read this post.

Dengue fever must be AWFUL.

When I was younger I used to think I was indestructible and never got travel insurance. Now I would never go anywhere without it and think you are crazy not to. Have heard so many horror stories of people caught without insurance and left with a huge bill.

Congratulations on your gorgeous website by the way. What a wealth of information for anyone in Chiang Mai xx

Love the Aussie accent addition - we need an emoji for that. Actually Victoria has a very high incidence of Ross River Virus, which is mosquito borne. The illusion that this is an Asian problem makes many Australians more vulnerable. Yup - Dengue Fever is unbelievably horrible. My first bout I was bedridden for 9 weeks.

The website is spreading out to be for all things natural and Thai, rather than just Chiang Mai. Baby steps. Thailand is expecting over 40 million tourists this year - the 25% of them (only 10 million) people roughly interested in natural stuff is my modest target audience.

It's an old alert but gives you a look-see into the mosquito diseases happily thriving on your Victorian doorstep. https://www2.health.vic.gov.au/about/news-and-events/healthalerts/advisory-2017-02-mosquitoes-goulburn-valley Pre-warned and naturally safe & protected is everything.

Mosquitoes - argh. I am lucky that where I lived most of my life the mosquitoes are horrendous but rarely make people sick. I'm not even sure about the ones here in the maritimes - Your post is enough to motivate me to research. Love the salt tip. Never thought of that!!

I've dealt with west Nile virus and malaria within my immediate family - both incredibly scary situations. A little mosquito can sure bring a person to their knees.

A little local research always wise and prudent... mosquito territories are increasing annually and changing rapidly. Mosquitoes are one of the deadliest critters in the world. Scary but less so if you are prepared and aware.

*"Neem oil and extract , clove essential oil and lemongrass oil all outperform DEET in clinical studies." *
Could you please link to some of those studies, I'd like to forward to hubby @bobydimitrov - thanks!

Ah, yes. Mosquitoes. After living in Florida for over 25 years, I sincerely hate the little bastards.

I use a homemade repellent of my own, that includes oils of lemongrass, geranium, peppermint, cedarwood and more, and it does keep the mosquitoes and (usually) ticks at bay.

That said, here in Tennessee, even with three small ponds and a river bordering our land, we have a tiny fraction of the mosquitoes that we had in Florida.

Of course, what we lack in mosquitoes we more than make up for in ticks, which aren't exactly an improvement.

Thanks for this post. Vitally important information for people all over the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46