Calling on the Community. Help determine my NaNoWriMo novel! My November fate is in your hands.

in #nanowrimo8 years ago (edited)

What is NaNoWriMo?

#nanowrimo is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization "because writing matters". To learn more about what they do and who they help, I encourage you to read their FAQ page.

For the rest of the world, WriMo challenges a bunch of lunatic authors and wannabe writers to take the month of November and hammer out 50,000 words in 30 days. This is approximately 1667 words a day.

This is me posing with last year's novel: Hearts Conspired

Crazy you say?

Well, I'm half beginning to think I'm a bit of a lunatic. After all, I did successfully complete the Super Hot Pepper Challenge. Yessir! I ate a Ghost Cross, a Chocolate Ghost Cross, and a Carolina Reaper in practically one sitting. It's true. I have it on tape.

Behold my blatant stupidity

Yeah, okay... I called it blatant stupidity but you get the drift. I'm not all there. My point is: I love a good challenge and a 30-day commitment to writing seems like a positive thing... until I start looking like this:

What was I talking about?

Oh yes! NaNoWriMo.

It's an acronym for National Novel Writing Month and hundreds of thousands of people around the globe participate in this madness because... Well, it makes you a little bit crazy; it may be painful at times; it's fun, and it's for a great cause!

Oh yes. Spank me again...and again.


This will be my fourth year in participating and well... keeping with the tradition of crazy, I volunteered to be a Municipal Liaison for the Florida : Elsewhere clan.

🔷 We Elsewherians don't have a real home so we find out peeps through online community. Sound familiar? Steemit... Community... Oh, nevermind!

Anyway...

Here's where you come in, dear friends. I've got a few candidates for my November novel (aka white hot mess) and I want you to pick which voice in my head wins.

Here are your choices:

Mind you - these are not listed in any particular order. They are simply the voices & stories stuck in my head

1. Kevlaar

fiction - comic book anti-heroine
Luanne is a normal woman living a normal life when she's "killed" in a freak accident on the way to meet her MD fiance, who happens to be working on cryogenics in medicine. Yup, she wakes up in a new century cured - but changed. Everything she knows is gone. The world is a completely different place and she begins to realize she's got super powers. Will she use them for good or evil... or both?

🔷

2. A Woman Alive

erotic fiction
I've already posted 3 short chapters on Steemit but there is more to Deanna's story of sexual awareness and discovery.

Married to the same man for seven years, they both agree that their marriage is stale. When Michael surprises her with an experience at a swing club she realizes there is a deep craving to explore her passions and is willing to try anything to feel alive again.

Here are links to the chapters if you missed them:
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3

🔷

3. Diary of a Black Widow

fiction, suspense, thriller
Here's a very dark story I began to write about exclusively on Steemit.

A woman in an abusive relationships escapes her husband in order to take care of final arrangements for her mother. She discovers a trunk in the attic with a mysterious letter addressed to her. Inside the trunk is a small stack of diaries with terrible tales of abuse and revenge. She comes to realize she never knew her mother at all, but she may be more like her than she thought.

Here are those chapters:
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3

🔷

4. A Compilation of short stories

If you choose this route for me, then pick flash fiction romance or flash fiction horror/crime.

Here is one example of each that I've posted previously:
* Crime Story: Come Out and Play With Me
* Romance: The Roommate

🔷 🔷 🔷

It's time to choose my November madness. Which will it be?

Please leave your vote in the comments. The book selection with the most votes is my WriMo project!

In advance, THANK YOU for your feedback!



Request your own verification badge @ Steem.chat


Wall of Steemit love:

Name in peppers by @papa-pepperBeautiful art by @poeticsnake
Name in silver by @neoxian8bit avatar by @williambanks

Follow Meredith Loughran on Twitter & SnapChat or LinkedIn


Sort:  

I wanna say A Woman Alive because...... but gotta go with Diary of a Black Widow

Diary of a Black Widow for sure

  1. Diary of a Black Widow

Diary of a Black Widow for sure. I'm already hooked.

I say Kevlaar, on the other hand, I'd love to read more of A Woman Alive. I'm thinking of going Fantasy this year myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55