Plans For National Novel Writing Month

in #nanowrimo7 years ago

I will return to Bastiat commentaries and other articles in December, but in November I'm going to be doing something a little different. For the first time, I plan on participating in National Novel Writing Month. And I plan to make every bit of the process public on here.

The idea of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is to sit down November 1st without an idea, and by the end of November to have at least a 50,000 word manuscript. I've never finished a whole novel before, but I do have my share of false starts. Given that this will be my first completed novel, I have no expectations that it will be good. That's not really the point.

For me, the purpose of this project is to gain experience, experiment with the writing process and discover what works best for me, and to actually finish something. Quality falls behind all of these priorities. That said, I hope it's enjoyable and entertaining to some.

Another element I'm experimenting with in this project is the idea of creating "stakes" for myself. Making myself accountable to more than just myself. Putting the pressure of public commitment on myself. That's what I'll be doing here. I'm going to post everything I've done related to this project each day: plotting, character development, drafts, edits, and anything else I do as part of the process.

Each day, I'll post what I've done the previous day. I'm sure that most of the time, it will be a mess. I don't expect any of it to be particularly well-written. But I do hope that it might be kind of fun to follow along.

This morning in the shower, I came up with a few ideas and have finally settled on one. I'm going to begin fleshing it out today and will post what I come up with tomorrow.

Feel free to post any thoughts along the way, and I would love to hear from anyone else participating in NaNoWriMo.

Sort:  

I have never participated for some reason but I always support those who do.

Good luck! And cheers to a 50k completed manuscript!

Hi, derickj! I just resteemed your post!
I can also re-steem and upvote some of your other posts

Curious? Check out @resteembot's' introduction post
PS: If your reputation is lower than 30 re-blogging with @resteembot only costs 0.001 SBD

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-12-26 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38