NaNoWriMo: Halfway there! Anyone else ready to give up?!

in #nano8 years ago (edited)

"Believe you can and you're halfway there"
- Theodore Roosevelt

We are Halfway through November and halfway through NaNoWriMo!

....Anyone else ready to give up?!

I'm also halfway through a nervous breakdown! Damnit, writing is hard. It's hard to make time each and every day for this act of self-punishment even if I adore it. Since the election it's been a tortuous process to write. Every day I've said to someone in person or online "I can't do it, this is the last day I can write..." yet, today I crossed the 25k word mark! To Teddy Roosevelt, I say, feck off, it wasn't belief that got me through Chapter 12...it was determination!

I'm pretty sure what I've written is crap, I don't know why anyone would want to read it! Compared to the vision in my head is a paltry substitute that makes me want to throw keyboard away and drink myself to sleep. When I hit 'submit', I'm embarrassed and pray that no one notices that I've forgotten how to spell this word or that, and have been too crazed to go back and look it up!

14 days in and I feel like a writer! This is the result of writing, slogging my way through Fourteen days of both heaven and hell, enthusiasm and despair... but at least I'm writing. As I mentioned before, there is one way that novels are written...word by painfully chosen, badly spelled, wonderful perfect word. If you're still here with me, good for you! If you had to give up to deal with the world crashing down around you, good for you, there is always next year.

Before we know it December will be here and we can rejoice that we've created something that has never existed before! Word by word we'll get there. In the meantime, pass the whiskey and the coffee, and the dictionary!

Love,
Renee

Sort:  

Agreed. NaNoWriMo + election year = brutal. Haven't given up, but I've got a rough trek :). Congrats on crossing 25 k!

I'm pretty sure what I've written is crap, I don't know why anyone would want to read it!

Of course, it's crap, your writing 50,000 words in a month. But the goal isn't to write a compleat ready to publish novel. it's your first draft. And first drafts alway suck, have shitty spellings and grand canyon sized plot holes.
take a deep breath forget the editing and get the ideas down you can sort the rest out in the next few drafts.
Take a deep breath, stop being hard on yourself..You've nailed it so far!

This not being able to go back and edit my posts after they are written is unique...otherwise I might agonize about going back and fixing things...but I can't on Steemit. It's stuck.
I think it's useful to a writer like me who'll hem and haw over a scene long after it's written.

I think a writing journal is essential to keep track of the things that spring up. Like today I almost forgot to introduce a character essential to the rest of the story (and the other books!)

I'm terrible for going over and over my posts and comments for mistakes (being dyslexic doesn't help as half the time I'm seeing mistakes where there aren't any) installing Grammarly helps a lot. it picks up most things and the weekly feedback reports are interesting to.

nothing wrong with an imperfect first draft. Whisky and coffee my latest poisons too! 'latest' lol

Congratulations on those 25,000 words. That's already a real accomplishment. Here's to more words! : )

Writing is hard - I thought I'd test that theory out for myself also. Especially during the busiest time of year work wise. I should pass the half way mark today, so you're doing well. I feel your pain! As for your story, it's not crap at all. Yes it's a first draft, so naturally has its inherent first draftiness to it (as does mine, damn it), but it's very readable, and the story line flows. I wish you super writing strength to get you over the finish line by the 30th November.

Thank you for the kind words! Really, they touch me deeply. This has been a good NaNoWriMo year for me, and I can't help but thank/blame Steemit!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.67 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39