If I Were To Reply Traders In The Market - My Picture Day

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

Hey y'all Steemians, I've got my typical @nevies type stuff all the way on this one! This is the mypictureday photography challenge started by @timsaid, where you're required to go out there, take some shots and come back to relate how your photographyday was. It's pretty simple and fun (complete rules are in the above link).

Shout-out @timsaid, I found out about this competition early yesterday morning and since you had your own photographyday in the market I sort of caught the inspiration to have mine in the market too, that's what it is, and trust me if you had had yours at night in a haunted cemetery, chances are, I would have caught the inspiration to walk through the shadow of death in the cemetery to make mine too. Hahahah (pls disregard, thank you).

So here is my pictureday, I had went off to market as I was inspired to do, thanking the Lord that I also needed some stuffs too from the market for my school resumption.

Quintessential @nevies's stuff is usually a picture skit more like an outline of pictures (coupled with a few words) attempting to amuse, so for this pictureday I decided to make it one of @nevies's typical stuff, but for this one I think you need a very brief explanation of the operation of Nigerian markets for you to understand the humour, since I'm not sure how it goes in markets in other countries.

In Nigerian markets the traders scream out about their wares in ways that used to be normal but is now being considered funny because, well, it's just about now we've began to get the joke. The ways they scream about their wares is by calling it yours, you would find a trader screaming "Your bananas! Your bananas!" "Your cat fish! Your cat fish!" "Buy 'your' beef here!" The humour in this began to emerge when we started thinking: "if they say it's ours, why do we still need to buy it? Shouldn't we just walk over there and pick them up and go without paying? It's ours isn't it? After all they're the ones screaming it's "your! your!

So that's the way Nigerian markets are operated, different screams here and there, trying to get you to come and buy, and if you mistakenly have an eye contact with a trader, the trader would rather die than not tell you to come and buy, even though it's very clear that you don't and wouldn't buy, they'll just more readily jump into a volcano than let you pass buy without telling you to come and buy.

That's just how it goes, in this one I made up replies I would have given if I were to go around replying these talkative traders as they said the different things they usually say in the market. That's why I tittled it If I were to reply traders in the market
Trust me, everything I made these traders say here are well known usual things they always say in Nigerian markets, and they only say em to attract you to their wares.
So here we go,

If I Were To Reply Traders In The Market

All photos taken on Saturday, the 13th of January, 2018.
This is a popular market called the "Ogbete Market" in Enugu, Nigeria.
Where every sort of wares can be found.
Over there all you see are crowds, cars, people, you can't really get a photo that goes far enough, but I found an elevation:
image
Found a good distance:
image
Got lucky:
image
image
image

It would have been a thing of beauty if this guy fell down, a great pity he didn't:
image

So many traders shouting different things here and there:
image
image

And I be like:
image

A Trouser Seller:
image

Me:
image

A bread seller:
image

Me:
image

The underwear seller:
image
Man, seems like this dude done crossed the line!
Me:
image
Then he goes:
image
Seems like things are about to get rowdy, but I remembered Bob Marley of Blessed memory:
image

An Orange Seller:
image

Me:
image

And she goes:
image

I now flow:
image

😂😂😁😁😁
That's where I'll leave it as at now! Lol.
Thanks so much everyone! Until next time.
All pictures taken with Infinix Hot 5
Rear Camera: 8 MP with LED flash
Front Camera: 5 MP with LED flash

image

Read My Other Better Posts:

  1. Funny African Customs #1

  2. Oh How I Love Me Some Swim

  3. My Little Brothers

  4. My Adventure, On A Quest For Good Music

  5. The Type of Girls You Should And Should Not Date

  6. Africa's Biggest Street Party

  7. The Evils Of University Bacherlohood: Holiday Humour

Sort:  

Hey, Nevies how are you? Could you write me on [email protected] - I have some things I would send to you, and we could discuss how to go about it. Often easier if you get to discuss it early in the process.

That is to remind you that you are in the market and everything is for sell....from "your underwears" to "your sweet oringes here".
Its actually funny when you try to reason it like you said, but i guess thats one those things that you cant understand if you are not a Nigerian. We are cool like that.. Nice presentation bro, i like what you did with the pictures.

@arinzechukwu

Hehehe. Thanks so much, bro.

Lol... Hope you took home one of your trousers 😂. This makes a nice read.

Lol. Would have loved to. Thanks for the feedback and complement 😀

Wow...This is awesome...thats a nice place and l love the mood of the people..lovely trading atmosphere...cant wait to see you share stuffs like this on #marketfriday by @dswigle .good work buddy.steem on

Thanks a lot, bro, I've just checked out #marketfriday, cool, I never knew about it, this post of mine seems to fit perfectly into its concept. Maybe I'll think of doing one for that later on.
#cheers

Great post, lots of nice pictures.😊
Very lively market.
The small little yellow car is cute. Is it a taxi/cab ? Is there a name for it ?

Yeah, it's a tricycle, in Nigeria we call it a "keke napep"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88