Weird Weather + Photography in Motion = My Picture Day Phenomenon

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

Beam me up, Scotty

is not what you see happening here.

Stairway to heaven?

Nope, it is a beam, of sorts, but not a beam of light. Not a ladder. See if you can figure out what it is.

Black sky in the north,

clear blue and sunny in the south as we drove away from the storm brewing over the farm where my parents still live.

At 70 miles per hour,

looking out the passenger-side window, I aimed my phone camera at the turbulent sky to the west. Our son is driving, eyes focused on the road, lest anyone suspect me of driving while storm chasing. ;-)

A solid part of the landscape

showed up as a mysterious beam in the photos. Soon, I will tell you what it was, but I'm curious to see how many people can guess what we are looking at. It makes no sense to me that the image turned out like this. Trick photography? No. Just something weird that happened while shooting photos from a moving vehicle.

I'm not finding a lot of information online on HOW this thing happened. There's this:

photography in motion (pictures taken from a car or other moving | Flickr

This group is all about the random snap shots you can get from your car (hopefully not while YOU are driving) while it is moving. If you haven't tried this you'll find that it is a lot of fun and you get some unique and interesting shots.


The answer is online, I know, but if this is the best explanation, I will (for once!) be ok with not knowing:

So, who among us can explain why a solid object turned transparent and no longer stationary in these photos? It kinda makes me see why primitive people were scared of cameras. :)

Can you guess what the mystery beam is?


Scroll down....



source

"Rolling Shutter" artifact

....not every portion of the image starts and stops receiving light at the same time. The process is commonly referred to as a “rolling shutter” since exposures typically move as a wave from one side of the image to the other. Both film and digital work this way. With a rotary shutter, this happens as each edge of the disc’s opening sweeps across the sensor.

Sort:  

This is some terrible weather. Glad your ok.

It looks to me like one of those big blowers blowing air into a fabric tube to get attention, but as I'm not guessing the farm gets that kind of traffic, I really don't know.

Though I'll probably kick myself when you tell me. ;-)

The picture of the scenes shows a beautiful view of photography. The picture that can be painted with color of human imagination seems to be more natural. The painting is no longer in color and color. Photography is also limited to camera frames. Like technology and rich imagination of human imagination.

I would never guess what that beam was. My first thought was kind of reflection.
Amazing what it really was.

Wait, was it a power line? I don't see it D: I love when photos do that though.

A power line, a stairway to heaven - I'm going with Stairway!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-01T14:20:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 98.50/100.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!


Awesome Work!

I've verified that your photography is original, and that means it's so good that I had to check.

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that verifies and promotes original photographers on Steem.


Your photography will be featured in Today's Lucky Photos showcase, alongside numerous other photographs. Tag your posts with yourluckyphotos to increase your odds of being featured.


Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80