My Steemit Name @soorefunmi ❤❤❤

in #mynameiswhat6 years ago

Hi everyone, it’s the queen of hearts in the building again. As you all know I go by the name @soorefunmi here and I am about to write a long history about this name I chose, thanks to this contest by @steemitachievers.
The rules are simple, you can join HERE

MY ENTRY.

IMG-20180228-WA0008.jpg

First of all, My native Yoruba name is OLUWASOOREFUNMI which means, “God has done me a favour”.

What this name meant to me growing up

As a child I had a hard time accepting who I was. I was black, slim, short and not so attractive, other friends of mine back in primary/ secondary school were mostly cute and fair, so I lived in their shadows. The only unique thing about me then was my name, it was not common and people loved it. 80% of all the compliments I received while growing up was because of my name, so I loved and cherished it.

What my name meant to me, finding myself

IMG-20180228-WA0006.jpg
The struggle of finding who I really was would definitely be the toughest battle I fought. Resuming into the university changed a lot of things for me. I was in a room of eight people who were from different backgrounds. The day I introduced myself to them was when I started disliking the name, they pronounced it in different ways and I really felt bad, I tried correcting them but they wouldn’t bulge. In fact, one of them still calls me “SHORE”. I remember having a course mate that called me “SORE”, as in wound kind of sore. The straw that broke my camel’s back was when I had guys walking up to me, after telling them my name, most of them would immediately ask “what kind of favour should I expect?” I cannot forget the one who asked me if I would love to show him the favour on his bed. That was when I told people to start calling me PROMISE instead of SOOREFUNMI.

What my name means to me now

In the process of finding myself, I found out that people would always be assholes when they want to be and even when I asked them to call me PROMISE, some people still asked me why I was answering to a male’s name (Who wrote the constitution that PROMISE is a masculine name?). Most places I went to and I introduced myself as promise, instead of them to just say nice name and walk always, they still found a way to ask me “so what are you promising me?”. The worst pick up line used on me was “Are you promising to be mine now?” the thought of these questions still ticks me off.
Then I realised if I did not love myself, who would do it for me? If I did not place myself high, who would put me there? Guess what I did? I gave the name a huge prestige. Anyone I was meeting and introducing myself to would address me as PROMISE, only a few friends and family members were permitted to call me SOOREFUNMI. Do you also know what I found out? Whenever I tell a person, “you can call me SOORE or SOOREFUNMI”, they immediately feel like an important part of me.

Why i chose it as my steemit name.

When @ttopswag introduced me to steemit, I knew steemit was going to be an important part of me, so I gave it the badge of importance which was my name!

I have always wondered why some people chose their name, so I am going to nominate them for this contest. @jeaniepearl (I have been tempted to call her Jane but I don’t know if I am correct), @booktoon (really, the name is cute) @illuminatus (the name stroked a lot of chords and I would love to know its history), @ceepee (feels like a shortened name, but I don’t know its full meaning), @ewuoso (my eyes widened when I say the name, until I saw it was @ewuoso not @ewuosu).

DQmUFEhPMMUqDAqhPe8urcjSRjFuVF76Cpe5bLsQaLuFghM.png

Check out interesting posts related to this that you might like:


A train is coming

Expensive peace

Top ten effective ways to detoxify your body

Hotline bling

Where is the hope

Music

Change

I write

DQmUFEhPMMUqDAqhPe8urcjSRjFuVF76Cpe5bLsQaLuFghM.png

20180326_165322_0001.png

20180326_164516_0001.png

Sort:  

That's a nice one. Self discovery is the best.
Black is beautiful and that is the truth. I am black, infact if you call me charcoal you may not be wrong but I know who I am

I agree that self discovery is the best. Thanks for stopping by.

Omg. You know what I always wanted to be black. Black people are just so talented.

I love your courage and self confidence girl!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

You got a 3.35% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @soorefunmi!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85