My Daily Life - Backyard Rink

in #mydailylife6 years ago

Ok, so #mydailylife was a challenge that @adayat523 placed on herself to try and catch a moment of her life each day.

Now I am not planning of making a post with this tag everyday, but I thought it was a great idea. I will probably throw one out there once a week. Anytime I snap a photo of something that reflects things that I experience on a day to day basis. Or maybe things that I want to remember in the years to come.

So this is it. This is #mydailylife

20180128_153726.jpg


My brother in law has a large ice rink in his backyard. We took the opportunity this week end to get out and play some shinny on it. For you non Canadians:

Shinny :


A game of ice hockey played on a backyard rink or frozen pond.
Most of the time when you play a game of shinny you only use sticks, skates an gloves. Sometime you will see helmet or shin pads.


Playing shinny is often more fun than playing real hockey. Rules are up in the air, make your own. Nets and Goalies are optional. Pretty much just get out on the ice and have some fun!


image

Darryl (@dadview) is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

How is it I've lived in Canada for 18 years and I didn't know the word "shinny" until now?! lol! Guess I'm not super into hockey. (Don't worry, I'll still cheer on team Canada at all the big games!) Love this post. That backyard rink looks fabulous. :)

I think you need to be in beer leagues to really hear the term used more often :)

How have none of these people heard of shinny?

I dont know.... you have right? or am I crazy.
I just did a google search and it did come up.

Yeah It's everywhere. I still hear the term thrown around all winter long.

Okay I will admit, I was born and raised in Canada and did not know that term. However, I have skated on an outdoor backyard rink before in my much much younger years. I do love it and it took me back. Thanks for sharing your daily life for a moment, it was nice to see

Maybe you need to be into pond hockey to know the term!

looks like a good life!

It was great to get outside and have some fun. It has been so cold this year. It was nice to see the weather above freezing so we could get out of the house!

What a good life.. I don't know anything about shinny, I think I have the idea now

Very interesting. Im a canadian born and raised. Never heard that term. We play street hockey here alot (like ball hockey). That backyard rink does look like a blast! Hope it was a good game. Great exercise too!!

Yeah, you dont use the work shinny for ball hockey.
I played a lot of road hockey growing up.

How were you able to smoothen the ice? Or, did you even have to smoothen it? I've seen it somewhere in a movie that the ice needs to be smoothened before skied on, or else risk getting tripped.

So this ice was pretty bumpy.
Usually to smooth it you have to use hot water and then drag a towel or something behind you. Very similar to the way a Zamboni works.

I was just about to say that, since the movie I watched it in involved using Zamboni as a verb. THe movie I was referring to was Blades of Glory, by the way.

This looks awesome fun, that's real quality use of your back yard with a load of ice. Really impressed and I now know the name of a new sport - Shinny
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

That sounds like a lot of fun, or at least it would have been when I was younger and healthy. This is a pretty good idea for a challenge, I'll have to try and remember it. 👍

Her hashtag is #dailylife and she is posting about it a lot more then me.
I just think it is a great one to get some of your everyday photos out there and allow others to get a feel for what you do day to day.

How cool is that? (pun intended) :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38